Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by ybac
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Simple and perfect! I made it just as the recipe is written, except I used 5 cups of broth with my 8 potatoes. Maybe my potatoes were were larger? Also I didn't peel my potatoes. I served it with a fresh grind of pepper on top and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Simple and delicious recipe. I tweeked it a little bit to suit my taste. I added a bit of steamed cauliflower I had kicking around in the fridge, which made it even healthier (it's always nice to "hide" some extra veggies in a potato soup to make it a bit less carb rich). I also omitted the heavy cream and used a bit of whole powdered milk, which added creaminess w/o making it any runnier (we live in Africa, where cooking with powdered milk is common). Finally, I put 3/4 of the soup in the blender to make it smooth and more appealing to my 3 year old - she might have resisted a soup full of chunks of leeks, no matter how flavorful they were. Oh, and I used bacon bits instead of cooking my own bacon. Thanks for a simple and quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this tonight and everyone devoured it! Great, quick, and easy meal on a cool fall evening! I always tend to make a few changes to all recipes I use and adjust by taste mostly as I am cooking. I added some cubed chicken breast to it as well as a few extra spices and chicken bouillon cubes. My husband is not a fan of thin soups so I always thicken the broth just a tad as well, this time I used just a touch of poultry gravy mix I had in the cabinet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Dengel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queidersbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great, easy recipe. Followed the advice of a couple reviewers and added 2 cloves of garlic to the leeks while sauteing. We love spicy foods, so I chopped up a red jalapeno and sauteed that as well! Using a potato masher right in the pan, I lightly mashed the potatoes - loved the consistency. When we reheated this for left overs, we added some diced chicken to it -- WOW! A meal in a bowl. This is a very flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Great flavor. I added celery and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I like that this soup is easy to whip up and has so few ingredients( plus the bacon flavor really stood out). I did add carrots just because I like them in my potato leek soup. I also added a couple tablespoons of butter and about a teaspoon of salt and a dash of black pepper. I had to add extra cream because I pureed it and it was very thick. Overall with some tweaking this is a great recipe! I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
A little bland but fixed it up with garlic plus and herbamare. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was delicious. I ended up using two pieces of bacon and four leeks. I used half Yukon potatoes and half red potatoes. I used one cup heavy cream and 5 cups of water. I separated the green leek parts and boiled them with the potatoes. Then I fished out the green sections out later and added the cut up white parts. I mashed everything after I stopped the boil. It was quite good. I will use this for my Thanksgiving meal, substituting it for the usual mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made this today and have mixed feelings on it. I did change a few things to make it healthier (milk instead of cream, and 1/2 the amount of bacon). I only used 4 medium sized russet potatoes and even now I wonder if that was too many. After making it I felt it lacked something and was a little too thick for my liking, especially considering I wanted to let it simmer longer and there was barely any liquid left. I added another 1cup of skim milk and got the consistency I wanted. I didn't mind the flavour but my husband thought it was a bit bland. I added a dash of marjarom and about 1/2 tsp of thyme as well as some sea salt and pepper to taste and let it simmer for an hour. This made the soup have a wonderful flavour and a great consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This soup is perfect! I made it exactly to the recipe and it came out excellent. I added some salt to taste right after I finished it but I should have waited a little longer. I think if I had let it sit for a few minutes then the salty bacon would have added all the salt I needed. Anyhow it was so delicious and easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States