Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Absolutely delish! Had only two leeks, but it worked out really well. Followed all the directions except I seasoned the leeks while they were cooking with salt & fresh ground pepper. To decrease fat/calories (especially after using real bacon) I used evaporated skim milk instead of the heavy cream and added a couple of sprinkles of ground nutmeg. I also pureed the soup mixture with my immersion blender and topped each bowl with the browned bacon rather than mixing in with the soup. Yummy, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARDI1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Great recipe--you can totally fudge the amount of ingredients and it still comes out great. You MUST saute the leeks in the bacon grease! Adds so much flavor! Like other readers, I pulled out some potatoes and mashed them for texture. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohquirsty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very easy and lots of flavor for such simplicity. I used only a quarter pack of bacon because that's all I had plus watching fat content. It still had great bacon flavor, added 3 cloves chopped garlic to leeks at last minutes of sauté. Substituted half can of evaporated 2% milk and regular milk Instead of cream. Partially mashed everything with hand potatoe masher. Turned out chunky, thick and delicious. Everyone, including picky kids enjoyed it. Will be a 'keeper' for easy light dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I loved this recipe - it was very simple, and tasted delicious! I had some leftover bacon that I heated up the skillet, so I ended up just cooking the leeks in a bit of butter and canola oil. Super tasty! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Delicious but very heavy on the stomach and definitely not a healthy choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Good, but mine needed more liquid. I did decide to follow anothers advise and mash, ut it turned out more like mashed potatoes until I added more cream and a little more broth. But the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I would call this Loaded Baked Potato Soup! I'm usually not a fan of bacon, but am so glad I gave this recipe a try. I used my immersion blender to puree the potato/bacon mixture before adding the leeks. I seasoned the bacon and leeks with freshly cracked black pepper and added garlic salt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delicious! I used only one leek (plus a chopped yellow onion) and half and half rather than heavy cream because it was what I had on hand but it still turned out wonderfully. I did add thyme, nutmeg, salt and freshly ground pepper to taste, and then pureed it with an immersion blender because I like that texture. Thank for a great recipe. I can see this having many different flavor combinations and ingredient variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by nyxnx
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I rated this as 4 stars because the recipe itself is a starting point, but I had to make some alterations because it was bland. With my alterations (seasoning, garlic, another 4 cups of stock, spices), it is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyxnx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I added garlic and used half-and-half, as recommended by other reviewers. Note: This can be made ahead, too. I cooked the potatoes, added the leeks, and then used a stick blender just to make it slightly smoother. I refrigerated it (I kept the bacon separate) and then before serving I re-heated the mixture. When it was hot I added the bacon and the half-and-half. That worked fine. It was nice to be able to get the messy part done and the kitchen cleaned before the guests arrived. It only got four stars because we found it a bit bland, but it did have a nice taste and would be a good base for adding in other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States