Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
A little bland but fixed it up with garlic plus and herbamare. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was delicious. I ended up using two pieces of bacon and four leeks. I used half Yukon potatoes and half red potatoes. I used one cup heavy cream and 5 cups of water. I separated the green leek parts and boiled them with the potatoes. Then I fished out the green sections out later and added the cut up white parts. I mashed everything after I stopped the boil. It was quite good. I will use this for my Thanksgiving meal, substituting it for the usual mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made this today and have mixed feelings on it. I did change a few things to make it healthier (milk instead of cream, and 1/2 the amount of bacon). I only used 4 medium sized russet potatoes and even now I wonder if that was too many. After making it I felt it lacked something and was a little too thick for my liking, especially considering I wanted to let it simmer longer and there was barely any liquid left. I added another 1cup of skim milk and got the consistency I wanted. I didn't mind the flavour but my husband thought it was a bit bland. I added a dash of marjarom and about 1/2 tsp of thyme as well as some sea salt and pepper to taste and let it simmer for an hour. This made the soup have a wonderful flavour and a great consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This soup is perfect! I made it exactly to the recipe and it came out excellent. I added some salt to taste right after I finished it but I should have waited a little longer. I think if I had let it sit for a few minutes then the salty bacon would have added all the salt I needed. Anyhow it was so delicious and easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is a great easy, quick, and relatively healthy meal. I'd never cooked with leeks before, and wow yummy! I changed just a few things because of the ingredients I had on hand. I sauted the leeks in 4T butter then added previously cooked sausage and about a 1/4c flour for future thickening. Then I poured the cooked potatoes into that broth and all. I just added 1c regular milk since I didn't have any heavy cream. Still great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I just made this, and it was great! I halved the recipe because I had only about 8 red potatoes. I used low sodium chicken broth and then added a small amount of salt to taste at the table. I also used half and half instead of heavy cream. It was very tasty and rich, although I think you could use low fat milk and it would still taste great. Follow the recipe as written as much as possible; definitely sauté the leeks before adding to the soup. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Best recipe ever! Make it a couple of times a month....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I changed only one thing. I added a few minced garlic cloves in with the leeks while they were sauteing. I also didn't measure the cream or broth. My boyfriend has decided that he is buying leeks anytime he sees them now so I can make this really easy and really tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This soup was not only easy, it was also delicious THe only tweek I did was to pull 1/2 the potatos out near the end and puree what was in the pot including the leeks with my submersion blender and then add the chunk potatos back....was awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was perfect as is. No changes made and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States