Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I loved this recipe - it was very simple, and tasted delicious! I had some leftover bacon that I heated up the skillet, so I ended up just cooking the leeks in a bit of butter and canola oil. Super tasty! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Delicious but very heavy on the stomach and definitely not a healthy choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Good, but mine needed more liquid. I did decide to follow anothers advise and mash, ut it turned out more like mashed potatoes until I added more cream and a little more broth. But the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I would call this Loaded Baked Potato Soup! I'm usually not a fan of bacon, but am so glad I gave this recipe a try. I used my immersion blender to puree the potato/bacon mixture before adding the leeks. I seasoned the bacon and leeks with freshly cracked black pepper and added garlic salt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Delicious! I used only one leek (plus a chopped yellow onion) and half and half rather than heavy cream because it was what I had on hand but it still turned out wonderfully. I did add thyme, nutmeg, salt and freshly ground pepper to taste, and then pureed it with an immersion blender because I like that texture. Thank for a great recipe. I can see this having many different flavor combinations and ingredient variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nyxnx
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I rated this as 4 stars because the recipe itself is a starting point, but I had to make some alterations because it was bland. With my alterations (seasoning, garlic, another 4 cups of stock, spices), it is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nyxnx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I added garlic and used half-and-half, as recommended by other reviewers. Note: This can be made ahead, too. I cooked the potatoes, added the leeks, and then used a stick blender just to make it slightly smoother. I refrigerated it (I kept the bacon separate) and then before serving I re-heated the mixture. When it was hot I added the bacon and the half-and-half. That worked fine. It was nice to be able to get the messy part done and the kitchen cleaned before the guests arrived. It only got four stars because we found it a bit bland, but it did have a nice taste and would be a good base for adding in other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Just made this and it was incredible!! SO easy to make!! Followed the recipe exactly except I added a little garlic and onion to the leeks because I only had 2 leeks. No spices needed! Will make again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Love it! My whole family including 3 kids age 8, 6 & 5 love it. My daughter doesn't do dairy so we just scoop hers out before adding the cream. I typically substitute half&half because I always have it on hand. I have also subsituted left over ham for the bacon and it is ALWAYS a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
super easy and super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States