Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I really enjoyed making this recipe and will definitely make it again! Next time, I'll use less bacon and maybe add a bit of butter. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Perfect just the way it says... but I added pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was really simple and absolutely delicious! I used Yukon Gold potatoes and they held up really well, I think that's important. I slightly mashed them, broke them up a bit really before adding the leeks and cream. Also, a note about the amount of potatoes: I used up the potatoes I had, which was 9 medium potatoes, but I had a lot to trim off, so it worked out to about 8 cups diced. At first I only used the 4 cups chicken broth, cooked the potatoes while frying bacon and leeks. But my leeks were so huge, I knew I wouldn't have enough broth, so I added about another 2 cups vegetable broth (I was out of chicken) and heated it up. I increased the cream accordingly. Other additions I threw in were: 1 large carrot, diced, for color really. 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped. And once all these were cooked with the leeks, I added 1 can of creamed corn and some cracked pepper. I think you could add whatever vegetables you want to the sauteeing leeks,I might even try mushrooms sometime. Half and half worked very well, I don't think I would go heavier. Also, for the broth, quality matters! If you don't make your own, I've found that Pacific Foods Organic broth is wonderful, I don't bother making my own now. Thanks for this recipe, I will make often as it was sooo easy and sooo good!! Kids loved it topped with a little shredded cheddar and a breadstick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
AWESOME!!! I have made this soup 4 times now and even make it for company. I followed the recipe exactly the first time, and definitely good, but the leeks turned my soup bright green, which I didn't love. The next time I followed the recipe exactly, except used a whole chopped sweet onion, cooked down in butter and garnished it with green onions and a bit of crumbled bacon. The third time I settled on my favorite version, which was using the onions instead of leaks (and garnishing with green onions) and only using 3 strips of bacon and using a couple tablespoons of ham base (Better than Boullion ham base) and 2% milk. This is a healthier version yet still incredibly flavorful! Puree'ing the potatoes will make it perfectly thick without all of the bacon and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Loved this recipe! I added cheddar cheese and a little bit of pepper to it, and then put it through the blender to make a smooth, creamy soup. Everyone who has tried it loves it! Even my two year old asks for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hekert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a really good cream of potato and leek soup, but I did make a few modifications. I used a third of the recommended bacon (1 pound is way too much) and cut the strips into 1/4" pieces instead of 1". I used 6 cups of chicken broth, two large leeks, 2 cloves of minced garlic and 6 medium potatoes. As others suggested, I mixed together the sauteed leeks and garlic with the broth and potatoes and then pureed 2/3 of this soup in a blender. I then mixed the puree, remaining broth & potatoes, bacon and 1 cup 18% table cream (I didn't have heavy cream) and added pepper to taste. I was really pleased with the end result. It definitely reminded me of my grandma's recipe that I ate all the time as a kid. I will probably use 3 cloves of garlic and 3 leeks next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Absolutely killer soup. I made some very minor changes. You HAVE to watch the video if you're to get the proportion of potatoes to liquid right. This is cooking (art), not baking (science). I used russets, but have a large bag of them on hand and they were restaurant style in size, so even picking the smallest ones I could required twice the broth. You have to cover the potatoes with liquid otherwise you'll end up with soupy mashed potatoes. So I ended up with 8 Cups of broth. I sauteéd the leeks in one stick of butter - excellent choice. When cooking the leeks, taste them before adding to the soup. Salt and pepper to taste. A note on heavy cream - not all creams are created equal. Choose one with 6g of fat per serving. It will result in a much better flavor and mouth feel than the 4.5 g of fat per serving whipping cream (that's why they call it heavy cream). One other minor change I made was to use about 6 baby new red potatoes, diced the same size as the rest. Russets will break down, which makes for a great thicker soup, especially on day two, but the new potatoes hold their shape well and don't break down. It makes for a very nice texture. A note to "health conscious" folks changing the recipe. If you want healthy, don't eat potatoes. This is a comfort food. Changing heavy cream to milk or half and half? No wonder why some reviewers complained of it being bland. Changes for next time: instead of three leeks, I will use four due to their mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Absolutely delish! Had only two leeks, but it worked out really well. Followed all the directions except I seasoned the leeks while they were cooking with salt & fresh ground pepper. To decrease fat/calories (especially after using real bacon) I used evaporated skim milk instead of the heavy cream and added a couple of sprinkles of ground nutmeg. I also pureed the soup mixture with my immersion blender and topped each bowl with the browned bacon rather than mixing in with the soup. Yummy, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARDI1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Great recipe--you can totally fudge the amount of ingredients and it still comes out great. You MUST saute the leeks in the bacon grease! Adds so much flavor! Like other readers, I pulled out some potatoes and mashed them for texture. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohquirsty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very easy and lots of flavor for such simplicity. I used only a quarter pack of bacon because that's all I had plus watching fat content. It still had great bacon flavor, added 3 cloves chopped garlic to leeks at last minutes of sauté. Substituted half can of evaporated 2% milk and regular milk Instead of cream. Partially mashed everything with hand potatoe masher. Turned out chunky, thick and delicious. Everyone, including picky kids enjoyed it. Will be a 'keeper' for easy light dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States