Creamy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
My husband and I loved this! I made it with cream of chicken soup and used less sour cream and butter. I used 50% reduced fat sour cream and butter. I also mixed the cheese throughout and added a little on top. I left it in the oven about ten minutes longer so the cheese could brown on top. Finally, there is no need to thaw hashbrowns as you could break the frozen potatoes down with the hot soup mixture when mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe is always a big hit at picnics/family gatherings, etc. I use O'Brian hash browns (they have red and green peppers and onions)and I don't use green onions. They make the casserole much better and more flavorful. I use cream of celery soup instead of Cr. of potato. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
We loved this recipe. I know it is a vegetarian recipe and is good as is as a side dish, however, for this to be an easy and complete meal, we added a cup or so of cooked, cubed ham. We also added a can of cream of chicken soup. The result was a creamy and tasty dinner. Good amount of everything and will make again. i must also add that it is really easy. Worth a try with meat or not. Thanks Linda!! My family appreciates it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was the best potato dish I've made so far....It was very creamy with lots of flavor. I did'nt have green onions but added chopped onions in the mix.Need to brown the onions to soften them before baking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Martin Meirs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
Very hearty dish, but a little too greasy (I recommend omitting the butter). As other reviewers suggested, I used light sour cream, light cheddar cheese, and light margarine to lessen the fat and also used cream of chicken and mushroom soup. Also added more onions and some garlic to spice up the otherwise somewhat bland sauce. Also added some cooked crumbled turkey bacon. My boyfriend, a meat and potatoes kind of guy, loved it, served with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I am sorry to say this, but this was horrible. I made it for dinner and it was pretty bad, we ended up dumping it. Maybe I did something wrong, but my husband and I found it unedible. Sorry :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NV4X4GAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
My husband thought this was a store bought dish! It's quick, easy, and so very tasty. The next time I make this casserole, I am going to sprinkle the top with some crispy bacon, since it tastes so much like a baked potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I've tried to get this recipe from my sister-in-law for years. Finally got smart enough to look on allrecipes.com. Thanks, it is great. A note about thawing potatoes first. I had it recently at someone's and they did not thaw them. It was not good as the potatoes were not done. Thawing was a great hint. Again, great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hustonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
This was okay. I have had better. This is lacking something, thanks 4 sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
We made this last night but added beef (browned and drained) and cream of onion as suggested by someone else. We were unable to use the green onion because the store had one package left, and once I got home, I saw that it was too bad off to eat. How frustrating! I have to stress that the green onion is a MUST. The final product tasted good, but was definitely lacking something even though we spiced it heavily. It's not something I'd feel comfortable serving to other people (at least not without the onion), but it was good for a rainy day. I'm impressed that the sour cream wasn't too over-powering, but we used light sour cream and a 1/2 cup less of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States