Creamy Pork with Sour Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alyson Jones
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I give this recipe 5 stars with my changes. Most importantly, I wait to add the gravy (sour cream sauce) until serving. I served the gravy in a gravy boat and let everyone add their own. This way the pork steaks are not swimming in the gravy. I changed the gravy a bit by using 2 cans of soup - 1 cream of mushroom and 1 cream of chicken. I added extra mushrooms and a small chopped onion to the sauce. I chopped some of the mushrooms fine and left the rest bigger because I like the big chunks. I would also suggest crisping up the pork steaks in the broiler for a couple of minutes after baking and BEFORE adding any sauce. Yum, yum! Serve with mashed potatoes topped with the same gravy. (I added a picture!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Used boneless pork chops for this recipe and cream of chicken soup with herbs for more flavor. This was amazing. The meat was very tender and delicious. The sauce was great over white rice. Thanks for the post...definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My husband is the the pork chop king. He could eat them 7 days a week but he never had pork cube steaks. He went wild over these! I used Smart Balance to brown them in. Didn't want to open a can of chicken bouillion for only a 1/2 c. so used 1 T. chicken soup base in 1/2 c. water. Also, up'd the garlic a bit to 1/4 t. "Roasted Garlic and Savory Spices" was the seasoned breadcrumbs I used. They turned out PERFECTLY. Moist inside with a nice crust. You could cut them with a fork. As someone else said, next time I will double the gravy for the mashed potatoes I served with them. A true keeper!!! Thank you very much; I can hear his request already for this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
The pork chops were very tender and the sauce was delicious. I omitted the mushrooms because I don't like them, but did everything else exactly according to the directions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TexasJen
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
It was ok. The sauce was very reminiscent of stroganoff. Would have been nice with sauteed onions. Went well with egg noodles. I didn't think the meal was spectacular, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Delicious!! The breading is very good the sauce is a perfect complement. Next time I may try it with chicken and see how it is that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is absolutely our favorite meal! I have used chicken, pork tenderloin, pork chops and pork roast for this recipe and they are all delicious. The only problem I have is we always eat more of it then we should because no matter how much I make I never have leftovers! Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cave Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
The only changes I made were to use boneless pork chops, I omitted the rosemary, and I cooked them in the oven, covered, for 40 mins. The chops came out moist, tender and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Perfect comfort food! I didn't have any cream of chicken so I used cream of mushroom instead. I also didn't use any fresh mushrooms, just mixed the sauce mixture together and poured over the meat. I used half the amount of meat but kept the sauce the same so i'd have plenty for gravy. Baking time was perfect and the pork came out very fork tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was absolutley delicious! I used this with beef cube steaks instead of pork, they were way cheaper at my grocery store. I also used cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken, beef broth and added a splash of red wine to the sauce. I didn't bake these, just fryed the steaks on the stovetop and served over rice with gravy on top. Thanks for the awesome recipe, we will be making this one again often:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States