Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I just loved this. Strange to say I know but this is the first time that I have eaten pesto. I was afraid that the garlic would just over power the dish but it was delicious. Thank you so much for posting. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I guess I'll give this one of my rare 5-star reviews. Despite being quite unhealthy, the taste of this dish is awesome. I was a bit skeptical about mixing pesto in with the butter/cream/cheese sauce, but it worked out wonderfully. I made this recipe exactly as written, except that I didn't have enough shrimp. My more-than-a-pound of 16/20 count shrimp, after thawing/draining/peeling, turned out to be less than 12 ounces. If I made this again I would definitely add more shrimp. The suggested substitution of crab meat is sort of intriguing, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Amazing and so easy to make! I'm not the best cook and I've always wanted to make a dish that wowed my toughest critics - my brother and boyfriend. I loved this recipe; I simmered it for about ten minutes to thicken the sauce up a bit more. This recipe had my family going back for seconds. I definitely recommend trying this out for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Cut the butter in half and replace heavy cream with half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Yum!! Tastes just like Red Lobster pasta. I used salad shrimp because it was cheap, and really liked it! I like how flexible the recipe is. Could easily add capers or cut asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemcb09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
WARNING: This recipe can be a disaster if you follow the instructions as written. Take the time to read over several of the reviews before you start cooking and note the changes people have made to get this recipe to work, especially: - reduce the heat so the sauce doesn't break into curds and liquid butter - cook the shrimp separately so they don't overcook. Nothing like tough shrimp to take a dish from a hit to a miss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We made this with homemade fettucini and added shrimp and sea scallops to it and it was wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Fantastic and rich - I don't think you can go wrong with this recipe which is pretty forgiving even when I altered the ingredients and quantities by leaps and bounds! For starters, I left out the butter completely because the calorie count was a frightening 600+ I did however use a smidgen of olive oil. Also, I substituted heavy cream completely for milk, and while it turned out to be a very watered down, I multiplied the pesto by 3 so that thickened it up! I also substituted Parmesan cheese for Mozerella - which is not really a good idea because it clumps up instead of dissolving in the sauce, so maybe next time I will stick to Parmesan, heh. I also started out sautéing some garlic and onions, and later on adding some chilli flakes for some kick. To finish it off I added some cubbed tomatoes to give it some extra zing. At the end of the day I had this delicious, rich and slightly spicy sauce. Come to think of it, I almost never used any of the ingredients and it felt like I was doing up another recipe of my own but well, I had a great outline to work around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksugarpie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States