Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made this with 1/4 cup butter and half and half instead of heavy cream. As someone else recommended, take the butter/cream mixture off of the heat and stir in the Parmesan veryyy slowly. I also used a "heaping" 1/3 cup of pesto and added 3 cubes of frozen basil (from Trader Joe's). Next time I will be adding fresh garlic and some additional spices because there wasn't quite as much flavor as we usually like. In general though, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary_Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is a decent shrimp pasta dish. It seems to be lacking a little in flavor. The fat content is too high for the effects of the flavor. (better options to spend calories, in my opinion) Just about everyone will like it bc it definitely tastes good...just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This recipe is delicious. However, I made a few changes to decrease the fat/calories. I used fat free half and half instead of the cream and only 1 TBS of Smart Balance instead of the margaringe/butter. I used Farfalle high fiber/high protein pasta. Once the pasta and sauce/shrimp were done, I mixed it all together and let it sit in the pan for a few minutes to allow the pasta to soak up the sauce. Served this with a light salad. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was so good, but I did change some things based on other reviewers. I used 1T margarine, added garlic, diced tomatoes with basil, oregano, and garlic, used 1 1/2 c heavy cream and 1/2 c 2% milk, and added extra cheese and broccoli. My husband loved it and so did my kids who normally don't eat pasta. They even asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I would make this again. Easy, quick & tasty. I made this 90% as written except I used much less butter & more cheese (adore cheese). The shrimp are upstaged by the sauce, even seasoned. The sauce is the star & would be awesome with chicken ,grilled portabello mushrooms or just over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is a really wonderful recipe. I used the suggestion of other reviewers to cut the butter way back. Actually, I ended up using approx. 2 TB of butter to saute mushrooms, but that was all. After upping the amount of pesto (yum!) and adding a splash of sherry, the result was fantastic. One note, the yield is actually more like 12 servings, not eight. I made this for company, and even after seconds, there was enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sstockwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I halfed the recipe and the sauce came out very thick. I also used imitation crab instead of shrimp, which was tasty. I also used crumbled parmesan instead of shredded, so it stuck together. Next time, I will lessen the fat content and use half and half instead. I will also use shredded parmesan too. It smells delicious and my roommate could smell it outside the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlacknGolden
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This meal was really good. I cut up a piece of chicken into small squares, cooked it separately and added it to my recipe. Also I used a bit over a cup of heavy cream and about 1 1/2 cup of pesto instead. I don't think this recipe calls for enough pesto in the first place, thats the best part! I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This can be made with lots less fat and calories by using fat free half & half and using olive oil for half of the butter or eliminate it all together as well as the parmesan in the 1/2& 1/2 sauce. By using Smart Taste pasta you also lower the calories and fat while increasing the fiber (downfall: adds sodium) I also think it needs more of the pesto. I ususally use the package mix (Knorrs -2 pkgs. for this amount) also. Serve the parmesan for on top of each serving as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delicious and easy! Not so healthy though.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States