Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I halfed the recipe and the sauce came out very thick. I also used imitation crab instead of shrimp, which was tasty. I also used crumbled parmesan instead of shredded, so it stuck together. Next time, I will lessen the fat content and use half and half instead. I will also use shredded parmesan too. It smells delicious and my roommate could smell it outside the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlacknGolden
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This meal was really good. I cut up a piece of chicken into small squares, cooked it separately and added it to my recipe. Also I used a bit over a cup of heavy cream and about 1 1/2 cup of pesto instead. I don't think this recipe calls for enough pesto in the first place, thats the best part! I made this for my boyfriend's birthday and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This can be made with lots less fat and calories by using fat free half & half and using olive oil for half of the butter or eliminate it all together as well as the parmesan in the 1/2& 1/2 sauce. By using Smart Taste pasta you also lower the calories and fat while increasing the fiber (downfall: adds sodium) I also think it needs more of the pesto. I ususally use the package mix (Knorrs -2 pkgs. for this amount) also. Serve the parmesan for on top of each serving as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delicious and easy! Not so healthy though.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was good, but I needed to at least double the amount of pesto before I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I took the advice of other readers and omitted the butter completely. We used half and half instead and made sure to let it simmer longer. We also added some garlic and red pepper flakes. This was a hit and we will be making this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe although we did not follow the directions to a "t".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great recipe and I did'nt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I followed suggestions and did this: 1/4 cup fake butter, 1 cup fat free half and half, 1 cup half and half, and the rest is the same. I also made my own pesto sauce. Honestly, there was something really lacking. If you want a mmm mmm good outcome to this, I suggest using real butter at least. It was good- anything with pesto is!- but just not grrreat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
The first two times I made this recipe, I followed it exactly as written. I thought it was awesome. The ladies present did not enjoy watching the fattening ingredients being poured in and one complained that it was too rich. The next two times that I've made it, I substituted half and half for the cream and margin for the butter. It still tasted great and it was hardly a noticeable difference, though not as rich as before. I've read reviewers complaining that using the half and half makes the sauce not thick enough -- but I found that it can be just as thick if you simply simmer it longer than the directions state. Great recipe, I'd recommend these substitutions to lower the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Used whole milk but and upped the pesto to 2/3 of a cup. Otherwise I followed the directions and this was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 769) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Barilla® Tri-Color Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States