Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This is just what I needed after a long day at work. Fresh, yet comforting. I did change some things due to health reasons and finances (love shrimp, but it's expensive here). Also, I love veggies. I did not salt the pasta water, and used whole wheat linguine. I subbed olive oil for butter, and reduced it down to not quite 3 tbsp. I sauteed 4 pressed cloves of garlic, 2 chopped scallions, a cup of sliced mushrooms, a diced green pepper, and a diced red pepper in the oil. Then diced a lb of chicken breast, seasoned with pepper and Italian seasoning, and added it to the veggies. After the chicken had browned, I added a cup of half and half, then mixed a tbsp of cornstarch to a cup of 1% milk and added that, and added the pepper. I used only 1/3 of the parmesan called for. Added 1/3 cup fresh chopped basil with the pesto. Served with green beans that I cooked with some fresh garlic. This was a very good meal. The whole family loved it. Will definitely make again, and when finances allow, will definitely try with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Awesome recipe! We love basil and have tons growing in the garden, so always looking for different ideas. I added a couple gloves of garlic to this recipe and used half and half instead of cream, because that's what I had. It was great! I even used some of the leftover sauce on some leftover chicken and that was great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Sorry, I live in Italy. I make this with NO cream, NO butter, and maybe 2 tbls. of Parmigiano since the pesto already has a good amount in it. Just cook up the shrimp, add the pesto to warm it up (the exact quantity depends on how many are eating this) and mix it all with the cooked pasta. Che buono!! And very low in fat & calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
just a tip I wanted to share because I never hear it mentioned in any recipes. I use arrowroot to thicken anything that I need a thickener for. all I do it dip my spoon in the arrowroot and then into whatever I am thickening. if you need more, repeat the spoon dip. it takes so little and does a fantastic job and adds no unwanted taste to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I made this and it came out wonderfully. However I make my own pesto. For the pesto I fill my blender with one large bunch of fresh Basil, two cups of parmesan cheese, one cup of Romano cheese (both grated but never that bottled stuff like KRAFT, it is usually sold in bags in the exotic cheese area), 1/2 cup of Extra virgin olive oil, 1 1/2 cups of pine nuts and 8 cloves of garlic. Add salt to taste. You can add more cheese or more garlic to your preference. Freeze what you don't use. It's great on sandwiches, wraps, pasta, chicken and more. I sometimes place it in several small freezer bags so I don't have to defrost all of it to use only a small amount. Oh, a change I made, I didn't use the butter at all. Pesto tends to separate so I used some of the olive oil that settled on top of the pesto. It had a wonderful flavor!! I also used half and half instead of cream. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kiah
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This is a heart attack to happen. pesto and shrimp work well together why ruin it with all that extra fat. I make my own pesto, sauté shrimp in a touch of olive oil just till pink. using the same pan you sautéed the shrimp, add the fresh cooked pasta, add as much pesto sauce as you like, add some of the pasta water if it's too thick. top with the shrimp and a good Parmesan cheese and a basil leaf garnish. I always like to serve a green veggie along with a half a pita brushed with olive oil and garlic top browned in the toaster oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Excellent! Very rich and delicious sauce. Consider the shrimp optional. This would work even without a potein. Or, consider chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This recipe didn't lead me astray. I used Earth Balance instead of bitter and it cam out just as delicious. It was a hot day so I replaced some of the heavy cream with milk to make it a little less heavy. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Delightful! I made this dish tonight, not with shrimp (because my son isn't fond) but with chicken instead. I LOVE shrimp and will most assuredly make it with shrimp next time. I added mushrooms and garlic (had to use them up) and instead of serving the sauce over the noodles, I just mixed the noodles right in to one big pot. Yes, there's a ton of fat here, but I love the flavor so I exercised portion control and served this with a nice salad and fresh French cut green beans. THANK YOU for the recipe, Loretta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States