Creamy Pesto Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Wow, I don't even know where to begin to describe how poor the results of this recipe were. In summary the dish was WAY WAY too fatty, almost inedible -- and I enjoy a rich pasta now and again. I followed the recipe exactly and am not a novice cook. The dish had minimal flavor, was too soupy and very greasy! I suppose I had the temperature too high when I cooked the shrimp in the sauce because the cream broke. We ate this as dinner but the leftovers unfortunately went to waste. Will not make again. If you make I would recommend reducing the butter/cream, increasing herbs/flavor, and cooking the shrimp separately, in other words -- find a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This recipe is a huge favorite at our house! When I make it, I add cut-up pieces of sun-dried tomatoes (packed in oil) and some extra grated cheese. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harmoniesgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Finleyville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Marianna, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was delicious. Tasted so good, it was like I was eating at a great restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Husband Loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was amazing! I didn't have heavy cream on hand so I made a roux using the 1/2 cup butter and about 1/4 cup flour. I then used 2 cups of 2% milk. Otherwise followed recipe and we loved it. Served over breaded chicken cutlets.Yumm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This was a great recipe. I did saute some mushrooms, onions & garlic to the sauce. My cream did curdle a bit because I forgot to remove it from the heat when I added the parmesan. After it was done I threw in some tomatoes that were getting a little over ripe in my fridge. It was a nice addition with the pesto cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Used frozen cooked shrimp and Buitoni pesto sauce. Half and Half instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used romano instead of parm and 2% milk instead of cream, because that's all I had on hand. Still came out good though. I'm new to pesto sauces so I don't have much to compare this to but it seems good to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was nice and delicious, and just what we needed this evening. I changed the portions to suit two, and used shredded cheddar cheese instead of the Parmesan since we had none - still worked as it helped thicken the sauce and give it a nice cheesy flavor. Will definitely try it again as practice makes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 775) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States