Creamy Pesto Pasta Salad with Chicken, Asparagus and Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I was surprised by the overpowering smell of the vinegar in the sauce. I put the sauce on and refrigerated it for about 20 minutes in hopes it would lose some of the strong smell. It did and this dish was absolutely delicious! I added a fresh mixture of romano, parmesan and asiago and will definitely make this again! P.S. Warmed up some leftovers for dinner tonight and served hot with fresh cheeses and it was definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is my new favorite pasta salad. I even left out the chicken because I was serving to a crowd with some vegetarians. My only suggestion is to use a 12oz box of pasta rather than 16oz. There was too much pasta and I ended up adding more of the other ingredients. The pine nuts are a must. Don't leave them out. Don't leave any of the ingredients out! This dish is excellent the way it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I found the need to add more dressing and pesto after it had had time to marinate. I would add more asparagus and artichokes next time. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Wonderful pasta salad! I made a batch and a half of dressing. I mixed the full recipe of dressing into the salad and let it chill for several hours. From other reviews I knew it would be dry so I saved the extra dressing to stir into the salad right before serving. It's even better on days two and three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This is a fabulous salad! I made this for a girls weekend. I kept the pasta seperate from the other salad ingredients. I mixed the dressing in a mason jar and put it all together when I got to the cabin. It was gone in the first sitting. I swear it's the dressing...it's nice to have this over a regular lettuce salad also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Really yummy flavors. I did roast the asparagus instead of boiling. Keeping the dressing seperate allows you to toss together just enough and save the rest for later. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Ridiculously good. I mixed everything together and let it all marinate in the fridge overnight before serving. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I never give a bad review but I just did not care for this. I should have gone with my instinct which told me the buttermilk dressing would not be good. I ended up probably about doubling the pesto and only using about half the buttermilk dressing. I think this would have been better with no buttermilk dressing and just pesto. It was edible but that's b/c of my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I added a wider variety of vegetables and left everything else the same. I thought it was very good, but hubby doesn't like cold pasta salads. He warmed his and ate it that way, but it's certainly not something he's going to request again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a great summer salad - filling, refreshing, and the presentation is wonderful. This is definitely one to bring to a pot luck. Lots of compliments!! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States