Creamy Pesto Pasta Salad with Chicken, Asparagus and Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I only made a few modifications. When I cooked the chicken I put V8 juice and Italian seasoning into it. I also used whole wheat pasta because I am diabetic. I grilled the asparagus in the same pan I cooked the meat and added butter, because that is how I like asparagus. Other than that it was on par with the recipe and it was fantastic. I did not feel that it needed more dressing at all. The creamy is not like an Alfredo sauce , but rather a slight hint of creamy. It really is perfect the way it is! I wouldn't add more dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this for a teacher appreciation lunch and everyone loved it. Super easy too. I doubled the recipe and saved some for us -- it was even really good without the buttermilk dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is a GREAT salad! I used a lot of substitutions so I didn't have to go to the store. Whole wheat penne pasta. No artichokes or asparagus; instead I used peas and chopped fresh spinach. Also chopped regular tomatoes instead of cherry size. For the dressing, I used plain greek yogurt (replaced sour cream), fat free miracle whip, and skim milk with some "butter buds" seasoning (replaced buttermilk). I had frozen pesto and chopped green onions from my garden. I mixed the pesto with the rest of the dressing to-taste. This was EXCELLENT! My husband loved it, too... what a great summer dinner and, with all of the healthier substitutions, we didn't feel guilty going back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooper, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I was expecting this to be more impressive. Could have used more flavor - probably more pesto and less dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is the dish my step daughters ask for every time we have a family event. I omit the chicken and add more asparagus, artichoke hearts, and pesto. I never fail to get compliments on this dish, even from my pesto-hating husband! Tip: save a few cherry tomato halves to garnish the top of the salad before serving; I try to use multiple colors of cherry tomatoes to increase visual appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Awsome, My husband & I luuuved it! I didn't have rice wine vinegar so I used red wine vinegar couldn't have been any better. 2nd time i made this put the asparagus in with the boiling pasta for 5 min. Better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
All I can say is that this salad was AWESOME. I made my own pesto and subbed sunflower seeds for pine nuts. The prep time kind of killed me ( I think some of which may have been largely due tot he fact I was working in a cramped Brooklyn kitchen!!!), but it was definitely worth it. This recipe does make a LOT... I had leftovers for days and days (which seemed to get better after they "festered") My boyfriend, who is not apt to complement anything, said that this was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
oh, WOW! This was just so good. I used the garlic basil pesto recipe from this site, added diced fresh mozzarella, and some extra pesto. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
So so good. I added more veggies than called for, as well as adding olives and substituting roasted almonds for the pine nuts, and cutting back on the dressing (in an attempt to make it healthier). All good changes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States