Creamy Pepper Jack Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I'm surprised that so many people have had a hard time preparing this soup. It's really a very basic soup recipe. This recipe is a great simple soup that is delicious and yet elegant enough to serve for dinner parties. Serve as written for a soup course, but for a family supper I recommend adding a cup of shredded chicken and about three cups vegetables (I loved it when I added a bag of California blend (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots)). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
My boyfriend called this 'melted cheese mess'. It was terrible and oily, and we ended up throwing out the entire pot in the end. Don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Great soup! The only change was I used dried, minced onion, about 2 tablespoons worth. My soup wasn't as creamy as I would like, so next time I would probably use 1.5 cups of milk instead of 2 cups. This soup is perfect on a cold, windy Chicago day. Thanks Austin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I loved this recipe. I didn't have chicken broth, so I used water and chicken flavor packet from Ramen. I added a 3 cups of milk instead of two and added the cheese while the heat was still on low. I also used Primo Taglio jack cheese slices, cut up. It was great, no goopy mess, just creamy soup. My boyfriend loved it as well and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
For those out there who had a weird texture or a cheesy mess-this is a basic white sauce technique, learning to do it properly will make this taste smooth, creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I wanted to like this soup but didn't. I didn't like the flavor, it was too thick and the texture was grainy. For anyone else making it, heat the milk and broth before adding to the flour mixture. Then add it slowly and stir constantly. This should help the consistency. Just be careful not to boil the milk. I won't make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
it was good, mine turned out with a weird texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was okay. It had sort of a flour chesse mess, but was---like I said just okay @ suprised "so many people had a problem" only 9 review. waht is "so many"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Husband thought that this would be fantastic with the addition of some potatoes or other veggies. But good just as written. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
of course I modified soup like others have by adding leftover cooked vegies: potatoes, carrots, broccoli and added a fresh jalapeño instead of the hot pepper sauce. The chunkier soup was more satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States