Creamy Pepper Jack Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I thought this sounded good and had some pepper jack cheese on hand. Read the reviews, figuring other reviewers might not have made a roux-based soup before and did something weird to make the "texture off" like many had said it was. I have made plenty of soups this way, cheesy ones too, so I figured it would be fairly simple and turn out tasty. Everything went fine until I added the pepper jack at the end. It WOULD NOT incorporate into the soup, even though I left the heat on and stirred and stirred it. I have NO IDEA why that would be - I have made similar recipes without this happening, like a pepper jack cheese sauce to go on macaroni and cheese. Ultimately, I do not recommend this recipe. The finished product had gooey balls of cheese floating in it. Not sure if this is the "weird texture" others talked about, but that's what I thought was wrong with it. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It was good and spicy. I will probably add potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Husband thought that this would be fantastic with the addition of some potatoes or other veggies. But good just as written. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
of course I modified soup like others have by adding leftover cooked vegies: potatoes, carrots, broccoli and added a fresh jalapeño instead of the hot pepper sauce. The chunkier soup was more satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
For those out there who had a weird texture or a cheesy mess-this is a basic white sauce technique, learning to do it properly will make this taste smooth, creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I wanted to like this soup but didn't. I didn't like the flavor, it was too thick and the texture was grainy. For anyone else making it, heat the milk and broth before adding to the flour mixture. Then add it slowly and stir constantly. This should help the consistency. Just be careful not to boil the milk. I won't make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Taste was really good. I did add potatoes to make it more of a potato cheese soup though. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I'm surprised that so many people have had a hard time preparing this soup. It's really a very basic soup recipe. This recipe is a great simple soup that is delicious and yet elegant enough to serve for dinner parties. Serve as written for a soup course, but for a family supper I recommend adding a cup of shredded chicken and about three cups vegetables (I loved it when I added a bag of California blend (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots)). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
it was good, mine turned out with a weird texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Great soup! The only change was I used dried, minced onion, about 2 tablespoons worth. My soup wasn't as creamy as I would like, so next time I would probably use 1.5 cups of milk instead of 2 cups. This soup is perfect on a cold, windy Chicago day. Thanks Austin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States