Creamy Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I did not have high expectations for this dish...I was just looking for a fast and easy recipe. This was awesome!! However, I made many alterations to the dish due to time contraints. First, I heated the olive oil and browned some garlic and minced onion. I then added 1 cup chicken and half green and half red bell pepper, chopped. When the cubed chicken was cooked through, I added 1 8oz container of cream cheese with chives and 1 can Italian stewed tomatoes. This addition not only thinned the sauce, as others have stated, but also, it allowed me to eliminate the basil, parsley and other spices. Served over the penne pasta and viola!! Dinner was a hit (to my surprise). Sprinkled some dry parsley and parmesean cheese over all for presentation. Great recipe Toni (even altered) and will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This was a great start to a wonderful dinner. I changed a few things because it had quite a few bad reviews. I added 1 8oz package of mushrooms, 1 red pepper sliced,fresh green beans, 1 cup of milk,and 4 cloves of garlic. I also used low fat cream cheese and dried spices because I didnt have any on hand. My dinner was great! The recipe is to thick without the milk. My fiancee is picky and he really enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Amazing! I am now inspired to grow my own herbs for cooking. The fresh basil, oregano and parsley are neccessary for this recipe to work. I was a little scared after reading some of the reviews but it was great! The only thing I did different was used low fat cream cheese and substituted 2 Roma tomatoes. I served it with grilled chicken soaked in a red wine marinade. I am not a very good cook but this was delicious. My fiance loved it! What impresses me is being able to make a fantastic meal in under $5.00 Thanks Toni-great job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I liked this (as did my 5 year old)....I added a finely diced onion with the garlic and sauteed first then added the herbs and two diced fresh tomatoes. I also used low-fat cream cheese. I didn't think the sauce was too thick (it held the herbs and stuff nicely to the penne) -- until it cooled off....just add a splash of milk to thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
This recipie was HORRIBLE... I had to add an extra POUND of butter and 2 cups of water just to try to get it to taste decent....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I really loved this recipe. At first I wasn't too sure about tomatoes and cream cheese. But all the different ingredients really work. I did use canned Italian tomatoes and added onions with the garlic and used the chive and onion cream cheese in the tub. But those were the only changes I made. Oh, I did add fake crab to the mixture and it was so good. I am glad that I overlooked my thinking and made this. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was delicious and we'll definitely be making it again! We added mushrooms and onions to the mix and a spoon of pesto. A little seasoning also to give the sauce more of a flavor. 1/2 cream cheese and then used 4 oz of a delicious chive & onion sour cream. Oh, and after the pasta was added to the sauce, we threw in a handful of shredded mozzarella that melted in nicely. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
THis pasta sounds great on paper, but it didn't translate too well to the table. The basil and oregano overpowered the dish and the cream sauce was very thick. Maybe a few alterations to the recipe would help it. Otherwise, i wouldn't plan on this one for a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Very good and easy to make. It's important to use fresh herbs, as they really enhance the flavor. (Plus they make the kitchen smell wonderful.) I added chicken marinated in lemon juice and garlic, and the tang of the chicken was a delicious set off against the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
I made this with seasonings that weren't fresh. I also used Italian style stewed tomatoes and half the amount of cream cheese. The results? While it didn't taste bad, it was kind of tasteless (probably my fault for using dried seasonings). Even though I used the liquid from the tomatoes and half the cream cheese, my roommate complained that it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Penne Pasta with Peas and Prosciutto

See how to make tasty and inexpensive pasta with peas and white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States