Creamy Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Made it exactly as shown. It was just okay. Wish I added more tomato's and less oregano. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Luber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Very simple to make.... however in my opinion that's where the good part ends. Way too much spice. Only my oldest daughter liked it and the jury is out as to what my wife thinks of it as she hasn't come home from work as of yet. This is NOT a taste issue but more of an texture issue. I prepared the recipe EXACTLY as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Not good. Made everyone feel sick. Cream cheese does not make a good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was delicious and we'll definitely be making it again! We added mushrooms and onions to the mix and a spoon of pesto. A little seasoning also to give the sauce more of a flavor. 1/2 cream cheese and then used 4 oz of a delicious chive & onion sour cream. Oh, and after the pasta was added to the sauce, we threw in a handful of shredded mozzarella that melted in nicely. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
recipe as is...is goodish. I added juice of one lemon, 1 tbsp of italian dressing, cut the cream cheese in half and added 1/4 cup of milk, 1/4 cup sour cream and a some Parmesan. I prefer a really flavorful dish which is what it became. The kids like bland, so if you're serving just kids..leave it be. If you are serving adults, I suggest doctoring it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was very tasty! I did change it up a bit. I added 2 tablespoons of butter w/ the oil and sauteed some onions in there w/ the garlic. I only had dry spices, so I just used those to taste along w/ some crushed pepper flakes. After adding the cream cheese (I used light) I added milk (fat free) to smooth it out and get it to the consistancy I wanted. Instead of basil, I used a few spoonfuls of pesto that I had on hand, which gave it great flavor. At the end I did stir in a bit of grated parmesan cheese along with the chopped tomatoes (I used 2). The tomatoes were a nice addition in this. I would definately make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was really good, even my kids ate it all up! the only change I made was like another reviewer suggested and added 1 cup of milk to the sauce. and used a can of fire roasted tomatoes with garlic, all I had on hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Starting out positively, my kids ate it without complaining. I added milk to thin out the sauce. It wasn't at all what I was expecting. I probably won't make this again, unfortunately. It sounded good but didn't turn out all that well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I made this as suggested by other reviewers- with a can of diced tomatoes and some chopped onions. Turned out well. If you like cream cheese, you'll like it, since that's the dominant flavor. I only used about 5oz of it and that was enough. It's not to die for, but it's good. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Tasty. A little too cream cheesy. Made a few additions: 3 chopped green onions, to the sautee. Then once onions were tender, I added 1/4 c of the pasta water, and 1/4 c chicken broth. Kids even ate it and asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natascha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States