Creamy Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I enjoyed this pie. it is simple to make and seemed to be a hit. for the crumb mixture i found that i needed 1/2 cup instead of 1/4c. it was pasty not crumbly with 1/4c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Delicious light pie. I might advise, though, to precook a little bit pastry, for I've had big troubles taking the pie out of the pan. I omitted lemon extract, but may add lemon zest next time. The filling is absolutely excellent "plain" as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
Great tasting pie! Wonderful use of extra pears on hand! Doubled topping and used softened butter instead of melted butter, cutting in with pastry cutter. Terrific pie! Will serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was as delicious as it was easy. I substituted some of the sour cream with low-fat yogurt and added currants. Everyone who tasted it raved about it. Will be using this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
We thought this was very good too. I made it like pudding in small individual ramakins and didn't mess with the crust at all. Added crushed pecans to the mix as my pears were real ripe and kind of mushy and I wanted some texture. I didn't have lemon extract so used a little lemon peel. I did put a little cinnamin in with the topping, but no other changes. I liked the slight almond flavor. I would love to try this with other fruit as one reviewer suggested. Very easy and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
My family enjoyed this. I also made more topping. My daughter thought the almond conflicted with the pear flavor. The next time I added an extra 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and omitted the almond. I liked both versions. I used Bartletts as we have a tree. Nice when the tree is full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Delectable! The topping is great. Make extra! The almond extract makes the flavour so smooth! Not a bad choice healthwise, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
While living in Japan I found a great love for the Nashi/pearapple grown there. Luckily, they are imported to Australia, where I am living now. I bought a whole box and needed a recipe to cook some of them. I found this recipe and it is the ONE!!! I only made one change in that I added some apple pie spice, it was wonderful. I made it for my sewing group and it was a hit. I am now making copies for everyone! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Easy excellent recipe, got rave reviews from my family. A great way to use pears on hand. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Was an excellent way to use up the ripe pears I had on hand. I did make extra of the crumb topping for the pie...and had to cook it a bit longer as the pears that weren't as ripe took longer to soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States