Creamy Pear Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
We used an oreo crumb crust and added a few cherries to the filling, and it worked well. The surface stayed pasty white, even when we baked it for 15 minutes more than the recommended time, so we ended up putting the oven on broil for a couple of minutes to make it brown. My family thought it tasted even better straight from the fridge the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delightful, I used brown sugar instead of white and prebaked the crust wrapping the edge with foil so it wouldn't brown. I also used more flour in the topping and then added sliced candied almonds (Trader Joes) on top of the crumbs - yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It was okay. I won't make again. I added dried cranberries. Glad I did or it would have been just Pears in a slightly chalky white stuff with a tasty crumb crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bruceldavison
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
It was my first time making a pie! I just want to say that it was super delicious! I just change the sour cream for natural yogurt. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I was really impressed with this pear pie. However, I did make a couple of changes. I used sugar substitute (my husband's diabetic) and I used Greek yogurt because I didn't have sour cream. The pie crust I used was made with oil and mixed in the pan and pressed right in the pie plate, not rolled out. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I thought the lemon extract was too powerful and took away from any pear flavor. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This pie is delicious and easy to make. It tastes almost like an apple pie. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Our neighbors have a pear tree, so we are always baking "pear something". Since he gives me the pears (He never uses them), I always make extra goodies for them. I am not a big fan of apple pie so I was hoping this wouldn't taste like too much like apple pie. It doesn't at all! This is a delicious pie! I get requests to make this pie from everyone now. :-) Couple things I do different: double the lemon and almond extracts, and added lots of cinnamon (never measured, just tasted eyeballed it) I also doubled the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Wonderful! Followed exactly. The pear filling was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downing, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Loved this pie, as has everyone who's tried it. I was looking for a pear pie that was not trying to be an apple pie. I used lemon zest in place of lemon extract and doubled the topping recipe. I also pre-baked the crust for 5 minutes before pouring in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I was disappointed with this. It did not have a strong flavor even with all of the extracts. I was hoping for more. Not a bad pie overall though - easy to make and very light, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States