Creamy Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
You know, I've been visiting allrecipes.com since I was a wee lad of 17 years old. Currently, I'm a wee lad of 22 years old, heh. However, never ONCE have I felt the urge to rate/review a recipe (even become a member) until I tasted this. I'm from the good 'ol South, so I've made PLENTY of split pea soup. It replaced Ramen noodles during my college years. I've recreated almost every split pea recipe on this site; I even created a few variations of my own. THIS recipe, though, beats the split peas outta EVERY recipe I've made. I followed the recipe verbatim, except for a few small changes. I used one stalk of celery instead of leaves and real garlic instead of granulated. I also whisked in the cream cheese instead of blending it (no ugly color, just magically delicious green-ness). All the reviewers who have stated this recipe isn't for them, well, they just didn't make it correctly. MAKE IT. EAT IT. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I've used this recipe several times and am never dissapointed. I have been asked to share the recipe many times. Thanks for posting it! FYI to all - the recipe calls for 2.5 cups of peas - that's a 16oz. bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Very Good! I liked this recipe because of the cream cheese--I was looking for something creamy. I omitted the ham, just because we didn't have any. I used 5 c. chicken stock & 3 c. water to add more flavor (instead of all water). And I sauteed the garlic and onion (white onion) in olive oil while I chopped up the carrot. I like the flavor of sauteed onions and it also is easier to digest. In the end it was delicious and very cheap. ;-) I will make this again, especially during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This recipe was just O.K.. The flavor was traditional pea soup. The problem was after pureeing, it was so visually unappealing. It might be pretty good with just stirring in the cream cheese without blending the soup. I think there are better pea soup recipes out there. I'll keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
My husband said that this was the best pea soup he's ever had and I think I have to agree. What I did was after I heated the first set of ingredients to boiling, tossed it in my slow cooker and let it simmer to perfection when it came time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
hi- we tried this recipe, it was pretty good. I used a smaller bit of cream cheese - roughly one third of the eight ounces, cause I'm skimpy when it comes to things like cream cheese. Actually i'd rather use the cheese on crackers with salt. So, to compensate, if you want creamy, add two TBS of cornstarch mixed in 1/4 cup of water. Add hot soup to the bowl of cornstarch water and stir well. Then add to the hot soup. This makes the texture of the soup much smoother and refined. It doesn't end up looking like cement sludge, if you catch my drift. It actually has a sheen like restaurant soup. And old family tradition- we add a tbs of ketchup to serve, but not mix in. All in all, a decent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
My husband kept asking me to make split pea soup and I never have because I have never made a soup from scratch. This soup was easy and terrific. My husband loved it and said that this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Pretty darn good! I substituted some water with chicken broth and only used half the cream cheese. Also didn't put it in the blender, I like it a little chunky. Very good for someone who always ruins pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This soup is wonderful. I blend about 3/4 of the pot and leave the rest. I'm the only one in my family that eats this soup so I usually give some to friends. They're always asking when I'm going to cook another ham so I can make more soup for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Dradi Malloy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I am not a pea soup fan but this is one of the best soups I've ever made (and I have made lots of fabulous soups). It is a perfect harmony of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States