Creamy Parsnip With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This is simply fantastic -- it freezes well, and warms up nicely for lunch at work. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This was an excellent recipe for someone who has never before tried parsnips. I used 1% milk instead of half and half and the soup was still lovely and thick - the perfect food for a snowy winter night. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I received rave reviews on this soup! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
It's difficult to find recipes for parsnip soup and this one was lovely! I didn't have cardamom or all spice & I used a bit of fresh ginger root in place of ground ginger but it still tasted it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
A wonderful soup - it has officially become one of our Sienfield 'soup nazi' soups! Because I used more parsnips I upped other ingredients, but I found that I used much more chicken broth than the recipe called for - it was very thick. I used fresh ginger instead of ground and more garlic and cayenne pepper (we love garlicy, spicy food). For garnish, being that we didn't have hazelnuts and cranberries in the house, I sauteed sultanas and walnuts in a touch of butter.. it was fabulous! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe doesn't get a 5 because I had to thin it with water because it was so thick, and the cayenne kicked the heat up too much for my kids to like it. Next time I'll make it without the cayenne; I think the ginger is heat enough. Overall it's quite a good recipe, though, and the garnish is a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I omitted the allspice, used a little heavy cream as well as half and half, and I garnished with snipped chives. Absolutely delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was a fantastic soup and easily converted to vegan! I had a pound of parsnips to use up and I'm glad I chose this. Pan roasting the parsnips made them incredibly sweet. I could have skipped the sugar, but I did add extra cayenne to counter that a bit. I also made this a SUPER LIGHT version by using unsweetened almond milk, no butter and homemade vegi broth. The cranberries are A MUST as they add the bitter depth this soup lacks, while the toasted hazelnuts add fantastic texture and depth. Like other reviewers, I chose to thin this out quite a bit, but the bf liked it thick ( I guess it depends on personal preference, so I won't knock off a star for that!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
My irish boyfriend could not believe that I had turned a vegetable he hates into such a delicious soup! I omitted the allspice and used heavy cream instead of milk. I also used only 2 cups of stock because we like our soup very thick. The dried fruit make a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I did have fresh ginger so I think that gave it the extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States