Creamy Parsnip With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
It's like Fall in a bowl! And I agree with others who reviewed that it really can be enjoyed by those who have never tried or don't think they like parsnips. I followed the recipe, except made all spice as I didn't have any (cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove). Will Definitely make this again. And again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
The flavor on this was unique, and honestly a bit overpowered with ginger. While it was an interesting use of parsnips - and I love creamy parsnip soups - I wouldn't necessarily make it again. The flavors were a bit too pronounced to be truly memorable in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Yuck. I think my parsnips were bad or something because it was really bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious and quick! Comfort food with an exotic blend of flavors. Will definitely make again and again. I didn't even have any allspice; was still excellent. But trusting the writer I'll buy some for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This was a fantastic soup and easily converted to vegan! I had a pound of parsnips to use up and I'm glad I chose this. Pan roasting the parsnips made them incredibly sweet. I could have skipped the sugar, but I did add extra cayenne to counter that a bit. I also made this a SUPER LIGHT version by using unsweetened almond milk, no butter and homemade vegi broth. The cranberries are A MUST as they add the bitter depth this soup lacks, while the toasted hazelnuts add fantastic texture and depth. Like other reviewers, I chose to thin this out quite a bit, but the bf liked it thick ( I guess it depends on personal preference, so I won't knock off a star for that!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I would not make this again...ever. Had made it for company and in the end threw some steaks on the BBQ and didn't serve it. I'm not sure what all the other reviewers ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is an elegant soup worthy of serving to company - and I have! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
My irish boyfriend could not believe that I had turned a vegetable he hates into such a delicious soup! I omitted the allspice and used heavy cream instead of milk. I also used only 2 cups of stock because we like our soup very thick. The dried fruit make a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I did have fresh ginger so I think that gave it the extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Smooth and creamy with just a little zip. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States