Creamy PHILLY Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Tried this tonight with a little beef tenderloin. Turned out well and will make again. Using what I had on hand. I thinly sliced, floured and browned the meat in unsalted butter. Forgot the bay leaf and thyme but did add fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe was pretty good when I made some changes. I prepared it as written (well, I used canned mushrooms instead fresh, but other than that, I followed it) and it was very bland, so I added a pinch of red pepper flakes and some creole seasoning. With the seasoning, it was flavorful and delicious. There were no leftovers in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
What a cinch! I love having a savoury way to use up cream cheese. I've successfully used this recipe with chicken thighs, too. Tastes great. I add much more thyme than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I substituted Thyme for the Bay leaves (3 tsp total) and added approx. 1/2 tsp of red pepper. This was fantastic and easy to make@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Good for a quick dinner but definately screams "I threw this together".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Filipoff Osthoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe. I used canned mushrooms and dry parsley and added about 1 tablespoon of sherry. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eutawville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Easy and tastie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Oh this was very very good. I didn't have beef broth though, but I did have a beef gravy. So I made it with that. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
A passable basic recipe if you use sour cream instead of the cream cheese spread (it is a Kraft recipe). Cooking the steak before slicing is odd. I would skip the thyme, use dill and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States