Creamy Oriental Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
i recently was in atlanta and went to a fantastic sushi bar. i came home craving the salad dressing that they served there. this is as close as i can find, and it's delicious! i did double the soy sauce, used fresh ginger and added a fresh garlic clove for a little kick. thank you for posting this recipe - i love it! .tj. ps - for the person who doesn't know what to use it for here are a couple of suggestions: 1. salad - use fresh mixed greens, add shredded carrots, sugar peas. top with those little asian crispy noodles and sesame seeds. 2. marinade - this makes a fantastic marinade for fresh baked or grilled halibut (use more soy and the fresh ginger and garlic if doing so).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieJones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I used 1/2 cup mayo, and 1/2 cup sour cream. You also don't have to use a blender to mix the ingredients; a mixing bowl and a sturdy arm should do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was very tasty, but not sure what I would use it for. I wouldn't want it on a salad, and wouldn't want it on a sandwich. Defiantly don't use it on a salad. Thanks for sharing though, I had fun making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Good dressing! I made a few changes... I did 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup plain yogurt. I also added 1 garlic clove. Next time I may cut back on the sugar. Overall, good recipe, will use often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
I would recommend tweeking this recipe to fit your desired taste. I liked a little more ginger and honey, a little less mayo. I made this dressing with all lite ingredients, and it still tasted absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Instead of 1 cup of mayo, I did 1/2 cup of mayo, 1/2 a cup of sour cream. I don't like mayo that much. Great recipe. My husband and I both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I added baby carrots straight into blender to puree and one green onion, a splash of sesame oil and splash of rice wine vinegar - the dressing was soooooooooooo good!! Just like I've had at Japanese restaurants before - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Add a few drops of toasted sesame oil and use fresh ginger and it tastes like the dressing I've had at sushi/teriyaki restaurants. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This recipe was fabulous. I didn't have time to let it cool for 2 hours, we used it immediately after making it and it was great. I put all the ingredients into a mason jar and then shook the jar until it was all mixed up. (A blender would work too). All 5 kids loved it too. That's saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States