Creamy Oriental Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
A nice change from the usual oil-based Oriental dressings. I made mine with f/f mayo, skipped the salt (soy sauce has plenty of sodium) as well as the sugar (tasted first to make sure). The dressing took on a whole new flavor after sitting the fridge for a few hours-- it's delicious over a baby spinach salad with mandarin oranges and almonds. This I WILL make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was very tasty, but not sure what I would use it for. I wouldn't want it on a salad, and wouldn't want it on a sandwich. Defiantly don't use it on a salad. Thanks for sharing though, I had fun making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I used 1/2 cup mayo, and 1/2 cup sour cream. You also don't have to use a blender to mix the ingredients; a mixing bowl and a sturdy arm should do the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I made this by throwing some mayo, corn syrup, ginger, garlic powder, pepper and the all important soy in a blender. Just kept adding to taste! Can I just say, FANTASTIC. The kids love it because its "just like" the dressing you get at the terriyaki place! teeheee easy peasy when you've got to fly by the seat of your pants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Was delicious! I used fresh ginger and only 1/2 as much corn syrup. I also added a touch of wasabi paste. Will for sure try it with ff sour cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This recipe was fabulous. I didn't have time to let it cool for 2 hours, we used it immediately after making it and it was great. I put all the ingredients into a mason jar and then shook the jar until it was all mixed up. (A blender would work too). All 5 kids loved it too. That's saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
i recently was in atlanta and went to a fantastic sushi bar. i came home craving the salad dressing that they served there. this is as close as i can find, and it's delicious! i did double the soy sauce, used fresh ginger and added a fresh garlic clove for a little kick. thank you for posting this recipe - i love it! .tj. ps - for the person who doesn't know what to use it for here are a couple of suggestions: 1. salad - use fresh mixed greens, add shredded carrots, sugar peas. top with those little asian crispy noodles and sesame seeds. 2. marinade - this makes a fantastic marinade for fresh baked or grilled halibut (use more soy and the fresh ginger and garlic if doing so).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieJones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Yummy. I took the suggestions of others and substituded 1/2 of the mayo with sour cream and added more fresh ginger. Also added a touch of sesame oil and rice vinegar. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I added baby carrots straight into blender to puree and one green onion, a splash of sesame oil and splash of rice wine vinegar - the dressing was soooooooooooo good!! Just like I've had at Japanese restaurants before - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States