Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Wonderful! I found an orange cake mix at my store, but chose the white cake mix instead, because the orange stripes that the jello makes are pretty when served (you wouldn't see them if the cake were orange). I added 1 tsp. orange extract to the batter for orange flavor (would definitely do again!). I like the taste of Dream Whip better than the frozen whipped topping, so I whipped up the pudding mix, same amount of milk, and 1 envelope of Dream Whip. I used 3/4 tsp. vanilla, and 1/4 tsp. orange extract (thought the original amounts might be too overpowering). The results were fantastic! I used a nice garnish - sliced a small orange thin, then cut each slice halfway, twisted, and placed them on top. Pretty! Will definitely make this cake again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love this cake!! I make it all the time, and i put 1 package of dream whip in my cake mix, and my cake comes out the perfect texture everytime. Before I discovered dream whip my cakes were always moist but still crumbly (like a normal cake), but if you are using a white cake with this recipe and want the orange stripes to show perfectly, then use dream whip because it keeps your cake still very moist, but makes it a little firmer and dense (but not dry at all)so when you cut into it, it looks pretty and smooth and no crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
What a wonderful dessert this is! I decided to make cupcakes instead of a cake (easier to transport and share). To the batter I added 1 tsp of orange extract for flavoring and also to try to mask that artificial "cake mix" taste that cake box mixes tend to leave as an aftertaste in my mouth. I made 20 cupcakes altogether. It took 23 minutes to bake. I poked holes into the cupcakes while it was still hot using toothpicks, then drizzled the orange gelatin over. I let it cool completely, 1 hour. To the pudding mix I added 1 tsp orange extract, omitting the vanilla extract, plus I added some orange zest. I folded in half of the cool whipped topping and spread around the cupcakes. It was just the right amount of frosting for each cupcake. I placed the cupcakes into the refrigerator to chill. The results were fantastic! A light, refreshing delicious ORANGE-Y cupcake. Yum! These tasted just like orange dreamsicles I remember as a little girl. The cake itself is moist and the whipped pudding on top of the cupcake is light and creamy orange-y. I can see the specks of orange zest throughout the frosting and I really liked the stripe design on the inside of the cupcakes. Although I don't know if anyone else noticed the strips in the cupcakes as they were gobbled up so fast! All I was told is that it tasted good-like orange shebert. This recipe is easy to follow and leaves room to try a variety of other flavors in place of orange. A keeper for use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I made two of these, one with the cool whip topping as the recipe calls for, and also a cream-cheese dreamsicle icing. Both taste JUST like the dreamsicle ice cream treat. The cream cheese icing is as follows: cream 1/2 of an 8-oz cream cheese block with 1 1/2 Tablespoons chilled butter until fluffy. Mix in two cups sifted confectioners sugar. Mix in 2 Tablespoons vanilla extract and 1 Tablespoon orange extract. This icing is much thinner than the cool whip topping but tastes the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This cake is cool and creamy with a slight tang....delicious! It is not nearly too sweet as one person said, sorry you must have done something wrong. By the way, I also tried it with cherry chip cake mix and cherry jello....OH MY GOODNESS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I haven't made this yet, but for those of you who cannot find an Orange Cake Mix, DUNCAN HINES makes them. I keep cake mixes in my freezer and there is one just waiting for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I used a white cake mix and added 1 tsp orange extract to the mix. I also used 1 package orange jello instead of orange extract in the frosting. Prepare 1 day ahead of time and chill. Prepared this for a birthday party and got many many compliments on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Great recipe! I used yellow cake mix and 1 tsp orange extract and it was even better the second day. I will definitely make again. A great frosting recipe for a all sorts of recipes. Any flavoring could be added instead of the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This cake came out moist and delicious, and didn't taste like a "cake mix" cake. I left out the orange flavoring in the frosting though and just used vanilla extract instead. I would also choose something smaller than a wooden spoon handle to make the holes next time. I think even a toothpick would be large enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeruleanMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I make this a lot during the summer. I call it Creamsicle Cake. The extract isn't really needed in the "frosting". If you don't have either and want your "frosting" more orange-y, you can add a half packet of orange unsweetened drink mix (think Kool-Aid) and have it come out close. I stud the top of the cake with mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States