Creamy Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
Wonderful! I found an orange cake mix at my store, but chose the white cake mix instead, because the orange stripes that the jello makes are pretty when served (you wouldn't see them if the cake were orange). I added 1 tsp. orange extract to the batter for orange flavor (would definitely do again!). I like the taste of Dream Whip better than the frozen whipped topping, so I whipped up the pudding mix, same amount of milk, and 1 envelope of Dream Whip. I used 3/4 tsp. vanilla, and 1/4 tsp. orange extract (thought the original amounts might be too overpowering). The results were fantastic! I used a nice garnish - sliced a small orange thin, then cut each slice halfway, twisted, and placed them on top. Pretty! Will definitely make this cake again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Too good to be so easy! My guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This was good, not really what I expected. I agree with the others that it is impossible to find orange cake mix. I used a white cake mix and some orange extract & zest. I topped it with Manderian orange pieces, and it was very pretty, it just didn't have enough orange flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This cake was so moist, so delicious, and so very simple to make. I used vanilla cake mix since I was not able to find the orange and I think it turned out just perfect! I will most definitely be making this refreshing treat a lot during the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
Just made this cake for a 4th of July party -- delicious, refreshing and easy to prepare. Used yellow cake mix, teaspoon orange extract and orange zest. Make this the day before -- it keeps beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Finding an orange cake mix (in any brand) was mission impossible in my town. SO - I used vanilla cake mix and added 2 TBLS OJ concentrate to it. Still, pretty good cake (although I believe it would be better if the correct cake mix had been used). The whipped "frosting" truly reminded me of a dreamcicle! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Perfect for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I've made a lemon version (called Luscious Lemonade Cake) using lemon cake mix, lemon pudding, lemon extract and lemon jello. Just as the name implies, it is absolutely luscious!!! I'm anxious to try this orange version -- it has to be as good!!!! I've found that the lemon one is best if made the day before. Yummmm!!!! I think I'll make this tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This was the hit of our Memorial Day cookout. Light, cool, and creamy, it's perfect. And it's not really that sweet. I think I'll try cupcakes the next time too. (And the orange cake mix IS hard to find. If you have Meijer grocery stores, they're the only ones that sell the DH orange cake mix around here.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
this cake was so goooood. i never use cake mixes but will use them again in this fantastic recipie. all of our friends loved it and we run an in home daycare the kids liked it and so did the parents. they all asked for the recipie. one could even change the recipie to other flavours.yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States