Creamy Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
With the following changes, this made a nice gravy: Used butter, not oil, a (half of a large) Vidalia onion, mostly seasoned flour (leftover from breading chicken) for more flavor, chicken broth, not water, and added a little honey while cooking the onions. A nice, creamy, very onion-y gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I really wanted to like this. I'm not sure what I didn't like about it, maybe it was the taste of the buttermilk. I may try it again with regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Great recipe! Very easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I really enjoyed this gravy. I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1/2 milk and 1/4 cup sourcream. I used it over grilled chicken and for beakfast the next morning I ate it over my eggs and sausage. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
It was okay, but I made again and subbed the oil with butter, and the water with chicken broth, and I had a five star gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I modified this recipe to use for an impromptu dinner. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and not having any buttermilk on hand I mixed 1/4 cup plain yogurt with 1/2 cup soy milk. In addition to salt and pepper, I added garlic salt and paprika. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was hoping for a little more flavour from this. Also I found the directions a bit confusing where it says add the oil and then later says add the remaining oil. I used all the oil to fry the onions and then added the flour straight in without removing the onions. Then I let it go on a very low heat for 15 minutes before adding the buttermilk and water. I think a few changes might give me what I was hoping for. I'm planning to try this again and use butter instead of oil and add in some garlic and onion powders. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Yum, yum, yum, yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Not the kind of gravy I'd eat with a spoon, but was good served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
It was a little bland, but it was a good addition to Carmelized Onion Pork Tenderloin. I added a little brown sugar to sweeten it up. If you can, be sure to use sweet onions in this recipe. For those of you wondering where the sour cream is, it isn't an actual ingredient, its the flavor that comes from the buttermilk. It tastes like sour cream. Its basically a sour and creamy gravy with onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

All about Onion Powder

Discover the many benefits of having onion powder on hand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States