Creamy Mustard and Tarragon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
No "ifs, ands or buts" about it - this is absolutely a beautiful, 5-star perfect dish and frankly, I'm surprised more people haven't discovered it. I added some garlic along with the onion and doubled up on the sauce but I didn't and wouldn't alter anything else about this recipe at all. Why mess with perfection? Everything is right with this recipe from the ingredients, to the instructions for its preparation, to the cooking time. And it is just SO delicious! The chicken is moist and tender and the sauce rich and velvety smooth, with well chosen ingredients that all combine into something simply sublime - how can you go wrong with a sauce made pf chicken broth,wine, Dijon, sour cream and tarragon? Hubs and I were really impressed - but more important, we thoroughly enjoyed every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I will make this again. I do think that pounding the chicken breasts flat and adding mushrooms would be good improvements, but, as-is, the recipe is a keeper. FYI, I made the same amount of sauce for half the amount of chicken, and I am glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This recipe is wonderful. The marriage of dijon and tarragon is rich, yet not overwhelming. As other reviewers suggested, I added mushrooms. Great for texture and additional flavor. One caution, the sauce reduces very quickly - next time I will double the sauce ingredients and increase the amount of sour cream. Served this over homemade egg noodles. My guests had many compliments. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This recipe was a hit at our house. Next time I will add mushrooms for texture. I served it with cous cous and steamed broccoli. There is enough sauce to dress up the broccoli even for veggie haters to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is great, it reminded me of sitting in French Bistro and enjoying a similar dish. Home Run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I thought this was just OK. The chicken was very juicy and tender, I flattened the breasts out a bit with a mallet because they were really thick. The sauce was very easy, but didn't taste as good as I had hoped. I don't think the combination of tarragon and mustard worked too well, I might try it again with some mushrooms and without the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I have not tried this yet, but I love tarragon with chicken. And I noticed this is a fairly healthy recipe. I wish all recipes would post more healthy recipes, some that come across here are to high in sodium, cholesterol and fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gerardm
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Super easy. Super delicious. Will be making this again for sure! Tip: Be sure to not fry your chicken in a nonstick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerardm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Great! Simple and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Finally! A good REAL recipe with no "cream of" anything soup! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States