Creamy Mustard Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe immediately appealed to me, and I have to say it was AWESOME. If you have an extra 10 minutes and want to add real depth of flavor, let me tell you what to do... brown the pork chops as instructed but instead of adding the sauce right in, remove the pork chops to a plate and put one small-to-medium onion, sliced in the skillet (add a little more butter to the pan if it's too dry). After one-two minutes, add a container of sliced white mushrooms (has to be fresh, sorry - otherwise skip it). Saute until slightly softened, then add a healthy shot of bourbon or cognac to deglaze the pan (turn off the burner for a second while you do this for safety). Let this cook until the alcohol has pretty much evaporated/been absorbed by the onions and mushrooms. Then add in the liquids as instructed and return the pork chops (including any juices they have released on to the plate) to the pan and finish recipe as instructed. I had Colman's Mustard Powder in my pantry, which is a very high quality product, so I opted to use this in addition to the dijon mustard to add another layer of mustard flavor. I created a little spice mixture of the lemon pepper, a bit of kosher salt, the mustard powder and some more fresh ground black pepper since mine was a little heavy on the lemon side. I rubbed this on BOTH sides of the pork chops and added it the onions/mushrooms while they softened. The result was absolutely excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi-Me
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
It was bland. I tried to add other flavors and spices to it but it did NOT work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi-Me
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was very easy and very tasty! Great weekday dinner. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mpls_Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I would give this 4.5 if I could. The chops were tender but without some added spices it would have been bland. My sauce wasn't that creamy but it was my fault- forgot the water. Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is an excellent dish. I roasted the pork chops instead of doing them on the skillet. I then added the sauce for the last 10 minutes of cooking the pork. I had noodles on the side. My wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
My daughter, who is notoriously picky eater, gave this rave reviews and says "make this again, Mom". As another reviewer stated, I used Montreal Steak Seasoning on the chops and spicy brown mustard in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lydiezmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corinth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These are so simple to make, yet so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was quick and easy which was nice on a work night. However, I think it needed a bit more mustard so will mostly add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Though the recipe was easy, I found it to be incredibly bland. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Super yummy and easy. I added fresh mushrooms to the sauce and served it with mashed potatoes. I did not have lemon pepper seasoning so I used about a 1/4 tsp of pepper and about a tablespoon of lemon juice when I sauteed the chops. Really a great and quick way to make a yummy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States