Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I just made this exactly the way she describes it - and it was EXCELLENT!!!! I LOVE Sweet Tomatoes mushroom soup and this was as close as I'm ever going to get to it. AMAZING!!! Now, changes I would make: 1 small shallot, not two. Double the amount of mushrooms. ( prefer button with some shiitakes) Cinnamon is a MUST - BUT do less than a pinch. It's amazing how little you add, and what it adds taste-wise. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipes. I am making again this week! And doubling the recipe since it only made enough for 4 small bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSEROLECOOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added some cooking sherry and it was perfect!!!! Very very delicious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Excellent! I have made it according to the recipe and also with only portobellos, and it's been great both times. The dash of cinnamon really makes it, do not skip this! I also substitute corn starch for flour to make it gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great flavor (I added some garlic powder), a little thin for me so I will thicken with a little more flour next time. I made a triple batch, reheats well. Also used all Portobellos because they were on sale. Super easy to make, going into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was yummy even though I used beef stock and evaporated milk because that was what I had on hand. I liked it so well I would probably just use the beef stock next time I make it. It was very rich, despite using the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was great! I substituted sliced leeks for the scallions. I also added one thick sliced bacon, diced and fried with 1 cup of corn to the soup afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I used plain mushrooms since that is what I had available and this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was sooooo good! Very rich! I read that someone used heavy cream instead of half and half but I think that would have been over kill! I did it just like the recipe and it was wonderful! The only thing was I had to add some more flour and water to thicken it some more because it did't get as thick as I liked before adding the half and half. I served it with sourdough rolls. My family loved it and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The flavor of this soup is excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except one minor change, which was only to use the entire package of both the shitakes and the portabellos. I chopped one cup of each, then pureed the rest in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was so yummy and creamy. I love mushrooms and this was so easy to make. I will have to double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States