Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Loved it! It was very easy to make and delicious. I did make some changes. I added potato and carrots to make it heartier. Used potato flour instead of all purpose flour and coconut milk instead of milk. Didn't add cinnamon. Potato flour always gets very lumpy so I used a blender to puree the potato flour and some of the soup and then added it to the rest of the soup. This was delicious and healthy! Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My first time making Cream of Mushroom soup and it turned out really really good! Glad I used this recipe. The tiny bit of cinnamon at the end was really nice. It's a keeper- thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murphys, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Sorry that I cannot agree with other reviewers but I found this soup lacking in taste. It tasted more like a gravy to me. I tried adding thyme, garlic and a little sherry for flavor but that did not seem to help improve the flavor. I would use this recipe as a sauce for round steak but not as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
delicious! I used 1/2 cup flour as suggested by another reviewer and it came out very thick and creamy. I think I will add somewhere between 1/2 cup and the 2 tbs the recipe calls for next time. It was very easy and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup is amazing!!! SOOOO good! I wanted a nice creamy soup on a cold night and I literally licked the bowl! Grocery store was out of shitake mushrooms, so I used a generous amount of portebello and baby bella mushrooms. Also substituted half and half for heavy cream which made it thick and lucious!! Will make many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was so delicious! I have been looking for a mushroom soup for a long time! unfortunately I didn't have any shiitake mushrooms or shallots so I used regular button along with the portobello, I didn't have half and half cream so I used heavy whipping cream! I also used the other idea of others and used nutmeg instead of cinnamon and I also used garlic salt instead of regular! I love veggies so I shredded up some carrots and cut up some red potatoes which complimented the earthiness of the mushrooms! I will defiantly be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Delicous! I made quite a few changes, but tried to stay true to the idea of the recipe. Used an onion instead of shallots, used all button mushrooms, used evaporated milk instead of half-n-half, and nutmeg instead of cinnamon. I used what I had onhand, but look forward to trying the real recipe sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent!!!! The only thing I would change is the amount of mushrooms. I would double the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
It's a very good recipe but I tweaked it a bit...I doubled it and used regular white mushrooms since they are cheaper and that's what I had on hand..I did use the portobello mushrooms..I added garlic to the shallots and mushrooms and added thyme,basil, and oregano to the soup as it was simmering ..then after I put the half and half in I added 6 blend italian cheese. I also omitted the cinnamon because it sounded weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kahori526
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
It was delicious. Since I didn't have shallots on hands, I used finely chopped yellow onions. It tasted good and my family gave 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States