Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
It's a very good recipe but I tweaked it a bit...I doubled it and used regular white mushrooms since they are cheaper and that's what I had on hand..I did use the portobello mushrooms..I added garlic to the shallots and mushrooms and added thyme,basil, and oregano to the soup as it was simmering ..then after I put the half and half in I added 6 blend italian cheese. I also omitted the cinnamon because it sounded weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kahori526
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
It was delicious. Since I didn't have shallots on hands, I used finely chopped yellow onions. It tasted good and my family gave 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Mmmm Good! and simple! I made a few changes, I added onion and some roasted garlic to the mushrooms as them sauteed, I also added some Chardonnay when adding the broth, as I did not have enough broth. I used skim milk and some Greek yogurt for the cream/half and half. I added a bit of thyme, and a rough chopped tomato ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Amazing recipe! I've made it multiple times, but make my own changes. I leave out the shallots, and saute minced garlic and a finely chopped white onion before I add the mushrooms. I also use beef broth rather than chicken, as per another reviewer. It is an amazing soup. The leftovers are even amazing! My father has put some of the leftovers on a hamburger, he said that was good, too. Won't ever try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This one is definately a keeper. I cook for my family once a week, and since my brother is allergic to milk protein, I had to make quite a few changes that I was unsure about. I used half butter and half oil, and replaced the half-and-half with extra-concentrated soy milk. Also, I couldn't find any portobelloo mushrooms, so I used shiitake muchrooms and oyster mushrooms, both of which are readily available here(China). I didn't have and shallots, so I used yellow onions. Though I am sure it would've tasted even better with the original ingredients, I was very satisfied with this recipe, and will make it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sterling, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Used portobello and crimini mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This has to be one of the most delicious soups I've ever tasted or made. This was super simple and nice and creamy. I did not add cinnamon and added the Thyme which was suggested by someone. Definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischiviex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe was quick, easy, and DELICIOUS! To make it vegetarian, I used vegetable broth. I also added some cilantro since I had it on hand, and that added a nice flavor. I wish it had turned out more creamy than brothy, maybe next time I'll add less broth or more flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very good taste but I would have liked a more chunky soup. The mushrooms reduce a lot so it turned out to be a lot of liquid and a few muschrooms here and there. If I make this again I will quadruple the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
So yummy! Loved this recipe as it was really easy with my immersion blender. Also used three types of fresh mushrooms, milk instead of cream, and beef stock. Tasted better than any other mushroom soup I have tasted before- I couldn't believe I made it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States