Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was a really easy and tasty! The store didn't have any shitake mushrooms, so I ended up using the same quantity of button mushrooms instead. I did find that 2 tablespoons of flour wasn't nearly enough to thicken the soup though.. I added around a half a cup and it came out creamy and delicious! I also omitted the cinnamon and added a few shakes of grill seasoning for a nice savory flavor. I sauteed 4 more shallots in about a half a cup of butter, spread the mix on thick pieces of sourdough bread and put them in a 400 degree oven to make crunchy croutons to dip in the soup :) Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Really excellent soup. I used all 2 cups portobellos and added about another 3/4 cup of buttons. Added 2 cloves of garlic and a tsp and a half of thyme. Might reduce it to one tsp next time. Also added a full 2 c of broth. Pureed most of the mushroom mixture as per a reviewer suggestion after it was done cooking; I prefer it with less whole chunks of mushroom. Omitted cinnamon topping. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Really good soup. I tweeked it a bit with spices, but I do that. I also used it for a green bean casserole that turned out great and was a big hit at Christmas. I topped it with dehydrated fresh onions tat I did myself and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devanmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I've made this several times and EVERYBODY Loves it. I add a dash of McCormick’s ground Chipotle Chile Pepper to add a little smokiness. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe to a "T" (will experiment later as I like to add my own flare/flavour after trying the posted recipe). Didn't have access to some of the kinds of mushrooms listed so, simply used white mushrooms diced up fine (not pureed). What a fabulous flavour. Was easy to make (my 3-yr old daughter was able to help). Recommend this recipe to anyone that wants something easy to make and tastes great. Will definitely be a family favourite. Wife isn't a fan of mushroom soup and now she can't get enough. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M_DAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Wonderful!!! Absolutely loved it! I used a variety of dried mushrooms I bought from Costco. I even put in too much cinnamon by accident. It will be added to my tried & trues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Truly Amazing..... the one thing to add is 1/2 cup of white wine before the flour. Let the alcohol burn off for 2-3 mins. Soooo good.....thanks for the recipe (ps....i put the cream in but this recipe definitely does NOT need it...the colour and taste is so good before too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
What a great soup. I also took the others advice and added garlic and a little worchestorshire sauce to give it a little more flavor also used 2% milk and it was still very creamy. I used dry mushrooms and at the end put the soup in the blender to make a nice bisque. GREAT GREAT WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Townshend, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This soup is divine, even on a low-carb diet! I used white button mushrooms (all I had on hand), and heavy cream instead of the 1/2 and 1/2 (since I didn't use the flour for thickening), and added a teaspoon of minced garlic, a teaspoon of worcestershire sauce, a teaspoon of tarragon, AND cubed cooked chicken to make it more satiating. I topped it off with a sprinkling of nutmeg, instead of cinnamon. Rich and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Pretty good stuff and really easy. It is rich, though! I think next time I will try using a bit less butter and a mix of mix and 1/2 and 1/2. But overall we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States