Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This soup is amazing!!! SOOOO good! I wanted a nice creamy soup on a cold night and I literally licked the bowl! Grocery store was out of shitake mushrooms, so I used a generous amount of portebello and baby bella mushrooms. Also substituted half and half for heavy cream which made it thick and lucious!! Will make many times again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was so delicious! I have been looking for a mushroom soup for a long time! unfortunately I didn't have any shiitake mushrooms or shallots so I used regular button along with the portobello, I didn't have half and half cream so I used heavy whipping cream! I also used the other idea of others and used nutmeg instead of cinnamon and I also used garlic salt instead of regular! I love veggies so I shredded up some carrots and cut up some red potatoes which complimented the earthiness of the mushrooms! I will defiantly be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Delicous! I made quite a few changes, but tried to stay true to the idea of the recipe. Used an onion instead of shallots, used all button mushrooms, used evaporated milk instead of half-n-half, and nutmeg instead of cinnamon. I used what I had onhand, but look forward to trying the real recipe sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent!!!! The only thing I would change is the amount of mushrooms. I would double the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
It's a very good recipe but I tweaked it a bit...I doubled it and used regular white mushrooms since they are cheaper and that's what I had on hand..I did use the portobello mushrooms..I added garlic to the shallots and mushrooms and added thyme,basil, and oregano to the soup as it was simmering ..then after I put the half and half in I added 6 blend italian cheese. I also omitted the cinnamon because it sounded weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kahori526
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
It was delicious. Since I didn't have shallots on hands, I used finely chopped yellow onions. It tasted good and my family gave 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Mmmm Good! and simple! I made a few changes, I added onion and some roasted garlic to the mushrooms as them sauteed, I also added some Chardonnay when adding the broth, as I did not have enough broth. I used skim milk and some Greek yogurt for the cream/half and half. I added a bit of thyme, and a rough chopped tomato ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Amazing recipe! I've made it multiple times, but make my own changes. I leave out the shallots, and saute minced garlic and a finely chopped white onion before I add the mushrooms. I also use beef broth rather than chicken, as per another reviewer. It is an amazing soup. The leftovers are even amazing! My father has put some of the leftovers on a hamburger, he said that was good, too. Won't ever try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This one is definately a keeper. I cook for my family once a week, and since my brother is allergic to milk protein, I had to make quite a few changes that I was unsure about. I used half butter and half oil, and replaced the half-and-half with extra-concentrated soy milk. Also, I couldn't find any portobelloo mushrooms, so I used shiitake muchrooms and oyster mushrooms, both of which are readily available here(China). I didn't have and shallots, so I used yellow onions. Though I am sure it would've tasted even better with the original ingredients, I was very satisfied with this recipe, and will make it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sterling, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Used portobello and crimini mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States