Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I just made this exactly the way she describes it - and it was EXCELLENT!!!! I LOVE Sweet Tomatoes mushroom soup and this was as close as I'm ever going to get to it. AMAZING!!! Now, changes I would make: 1 small shallot, not two. Double the amount of mushrooms. ( prefer button with some shiitakes) Cinnamon is a MUST - BUT do less than a pinch. It's amazing how little you add, and what it adds taste-wise. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipes. I am making again this week! And doubling the recipe since it only made enough for 4 small bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSEROLECOOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added some cooking sherry and it was perfect!!!! Very very delicious comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Excellent! I have made it according to the recipe and also with only portobellos, and it's been great both times. The dash of cinnamon really makes it, do not skip this! I also substitute corn starch for flour to make it gluten-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great flavor (I added some garlic powder), a little thin for me so I will thicken with a little more flour next time. I made a triple batch, reheats well. Also used all Portobellos because they were on sale. Super easy to make, going into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was yummy even though I used beef stock and evaporated milk because that was what I had on hand. I liked it so well I would probably just use the beef stock next time I make it. It was very rich, despite using the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was great! I substituted sliced leeks for the scallions. I also added one thick sliced bacon, diced and fried with 1 cup of corn to the soup afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I used plain mushrooms since that is what I had available and this was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was sooooo good! Very rich! I read that someone used heavy cream instead of half and half but I think that would have been over kill! I did it just like the recipe and it was wonderful! The only thing was I had to add some more flour and water to thicken it some more because it did't get as thick as I liked before adding the half and half. I served it with sourdough rolls. My family loved it and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The flavor of this soup is excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except one minor change, which was only to use the entire package of both the shitakes and the portabellos. I chopped one cup of each, then pureed the rest in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was so yummy and creamy. I love mushrooms and this was so easy to make. I will have to double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States