Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Delicous! I made quite a few changes, but tried to stay true to the idea of the recipe. Used an onion instead of shallots, used all button mushrooms, used evaporated milk instead of half-n-half, and nutmeg instead of cinnamon. I used what I had onhand, but look forward to trying the real recipe sometime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent!!!! The only thing I would change is the amount of mushrooms. I would double the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
It's a very good recipe but I tweaked it a bit...I doubled it and used regular white mushrooms since they are cheaper and that's what I had on hand..I did use the portobello mushrooms..I added garlic to the shallots and mushrooms and added thyme,basil, and oregano to the soup as it was simmering ..then after I put the half and half in I added 6 blend italian cheese. I also omitted the cinnamon because it sounded weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kahori526
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
It was delicious. Since I didn't have shallots on hands, I used finely chopped yellow onions. It tasted good and my family gave 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Mmmm Good! and simple! I made a few changes, I added onion and some roasted garlic to the mushrooms as them sauteed, I also added some Chardonnay when adding the broth, as I did not have enough broth. I used skim milk and some Greek yogurt for the cream/half and half. I added a bit of thyme, and a rough chopped tomato ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Amazing recipe! I've made it multiple times, but make my own changes. I leave out the shallots, and saute minced garlic and a finely chopped white onion before I add the mushrooms. I also use beef broth rather than chicken, as per another reviewer. It is an amazing soup. The leftovers are even amazing! My father has put some of the leftovers on a hamburger, he said that was good, too. Won't ever try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This one is definately a keeper. I cook for my family once a week, and since my brother is allergic to milk protein, I had to make quite a few changes that I was unsure about. I used half butter and half oil, and replaced the half-and-half with extra-concentrated soy milk. Also, I couldn't find any portobelloo mushrooms, so I used shiitake muchrooms and oyster mushrooms, both of which are readily available here(China). I didn't have and shallots, so I used yellow onions. Though I am sure it would've tasted even better with the original ingredients, I was very satisfied with this recipe, and will make it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sterling, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Used portobello and crimini mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This has to be one of the most delicious soups I've ever tasted or made. This was super simple and nice and creamy. I did not add cinnamon and added the Thyme which was suggested by someone. Definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Nieto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe was quick, easy, and DELICIOUS! To make it vegetarian, I used vegetable broth. I also added some cilantro since I had it on hand, and that added a nice flavor. I wish it had turned out more creamy than brothy, maybe next time I'll add less broth or more flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States