Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was really good. I doubled it and also added, chicken, carrots, onion, garlic and potatoes. I did not add the cinnamon though???? :#
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I wanted to rate this recipe based on how I altered it (only to make is healthier) because I know I technically should be rating the recipe based on how it was written. However, here goes... this is a wonderful and easy cream of mushroom soup! It was so easy, my boyfriend did the work while I read the instructions (I was preparing other meals to go along). We followed the methodology of the recipe and substituted many ingredients. I only had crimini mushrooms so I used those instead and sauted them with about a 1/4C of diced red onion. I added 2 tbsp of whole wheat flour (fibre people!) and instead of chicken/vegetable stock (didn't want extra sodium), I used water. I know it may seem like I am not adding flavour, I did but adding salt, pepper, paprika, fresh dill, onion powder and a pinch of cinnamon. I added skim milk instead of the half and half and at first my boyfriend was skeptical, thinking I needed to add cream to make this tolerable. After his nagging, I thought I would appease him without compromising fat by adding a few spoons of 0% fat Greek yogurt. I added 7 sliced baby yukon gold potatoes (to make it heartier) and the soup thickened on it's own. It was so creamy and delicious even with all the shortcuts. This recipe is great because you can alter it to suit your needs without compromising taste or quality. Plus is was so very easy. It was honestly better than restaurant quality. My boyfriend loved it and we finished the pot for supper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_dimsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Delicious with a couple of slight changes - I added thyme and some rosemary. I also sauteed some garlic in with the shallots, it seems to make it much richer. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Quick and easy to prepare. Extremely rich mushroom taste. Remarkably smooth and creamy texture. Has an appetising aroma. Very filling and addictive. My favourite soup recipe of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshOzuN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
this was good and very quick, used a 2lb box of baby bellas, and some paprika and dill will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Husband and I both loved it! Used beef broth rather than chicken, and all portabellos because they were marked down at the store. Doubled the recipe - and was glad I did! Both husband and I took leftovers for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Another snowy day here so I thought this would be the perfect soup for dinner. I used 1 8oz pkg of Baby Bella mushrooms, 1 8 oz. pkg. white button mushrooms and 1 3.5 oz. Shiitake mushrooms which made a total of 6 cups of mushrooms. I would add even more next time and be sure to just slice some and not chop them. I doubled the rest of the ingredients. The taste was good. I saw that others had added some garlic cloves but I followed the recipe for this first time. When I tasted the soup at the end, I decided to add some garlic powder. A very simple soup to make and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Super easy soup! I tweaked it majorly, as I only had white mushrooms, ordinary cooking onions, and beef broth in the house. It turned out really well, but I would probably leave out the cinnamon next time. I also threw in some chopped garlic as I was sauteeing the onions and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
good hearty soup!i used 2 cups of baby bellas b/c thats what i had on hand. make sure to add the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The only change I made was to increase the mushrooms to approx. 3 cups, as mushrooms tend to cook down quite a bit. Served it with garlic crusty bread and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States