Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This soup was excellent! I used all shitake mushrooms and opted not to add the cinnamon. I did add four slices of cut-up, cooked bacon and about 1/2 c. of grated mild cheddar cheese at the end. I cooked it just till the cheese melted. It was so yummy. My husband is a very picky eater and liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I added 1/4 cup sherry just because I know it adds so much to mushroom soup but I also added barley for a heartier soup. This is a great recipe also because it doesn't make a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I would probably make this again, but it was a little bland. I added nutmeg and marjoram to the cinnamon. I also used red onion instead of shallots, and added a clove of garlic. I will decrease the butter next time. I used regular white mushrooms and baby bellas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is great. I tried to follow the recipe. You can use any combination of mushrooms. I added a little cooking sherry with the chicken broth. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This turned out really good! We like full flavor, so I used the recommended shallots. I also used mostly portabello mushrooms. I also added chicken to give it some protien and substance. I cut it into small cubes and cooked in a little butter with some of the shallots. I also doubled this recipe with the intention of feeding 4 people- but it will only be enough to feed 2 as a meal (my husband is a big eater). For feeding more, adding a salad and breadsticks helped stretch it. I also made it a little early and put it in the crockpot on warm. That way it is ready to go when everyone gets home, and you don't have to worry about scalding or boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Yummy... used 2 T butter and 1 T Olive Oil, button mushrooms, and whole milk. Didn't really like the cinnamon - I'll leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The best ever! Just as easy as opening a can but 1 million times better. I didn't add the cinnamon but sprinkled in a little thyme since I love that flavor with mushrooms. Oh and make sure you brown the mushrooms to concentrate their yummy flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I melted a couple ounces of Brie in the soup and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
If I could give it more than 5 stars I would!!! This was a great soup! Used 1/2 the butter and used a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALYNJNOLL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I do not even like mushrooms but I loved this soup. I made it exactly like written. But i did add one garlic since we are garlic lovers. I did use all portabello. I chopped small pieces. made enough for 4 bowls as a start to dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States