Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Received great reviews after I served this. Flavor was perfect. I substituted vegetable broth due to serving to a friend that is vegetarian but that was the only change. Other than taking time to chop the mushrooms and shallots, quick, easy, and impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
great recipe except i followed other reviews and used nutmeg instead of cinnamon. and i used 1 cup 2% milk because that's all i had. still great! excellent with garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Added cayenne pepper for a little bite and it blended everything in my BlendTec to make a Cream of Mushroom Soup. Wow, I'm impressed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious and easy, no more canned soup here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Made this soup last night with following changes...first I doubled the recipe then used 1 box portobello and 1 box white button mushrooms. Instead of using 1/2 and 1/2 used a little extra flour and 1/2 tsp hot curry powder and 1 tsp regular curry powder and let it cook for a few minutes to let the curry "bloom". Then added 1 % milk. I blended all of it but it would have been equally good with only half of soup blended, so there was a little more texture. I didn't use the cinnamon. Had a soup similar to this out in California and thought their curry add an interesting flavor. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Delicious! Made as written with the exception of adding some port wine to deglaze the pan, and substituting nutmeg for the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This soup was excellent! I used all shitake mushrooms and opted not to add the cinnamon. I did add four slices of cut-up, cooked bacon and about 1/2 c. of grated mild cheddar cheese at the end. I cooked it just till the cheese melted. It was so yummy. My husband is a very picky eater and liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I added 1/4 cup sherry just because I know it adds so much to mushroom soup but I also added barley for a heartier soup. This is a great recipe also because it doesn't make a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I would probably make this again, but it was a little bland. I added nutmeg and marjoram to the cinnamon. I also used red onion instead of shallots, and added a clove of garlic. I will decrease the butter next time. I used regular white mushrooms and baby bellas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is great. I tried to follow the recipe. You can use any combination of mushrooms. I added a little cooking sherry with the chicken broth. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States