Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Used only portobello mushrooms as well, sweet cream instead of half-and-half and added 2 potatoes and a carrot, no blending - tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I only used Portobello Mushrooms and added a little bit of nutmeg as well as the cinnamon. It is sooo delish!!! I also used a hand blender to puree more it was great! will definitely be making this more often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latinsyth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great base recipe. I had to do few modifications: i used only portobello mushrooms and satay them for about 20 min. I added flour to the warm broth- it mixes way easier then to mix flour with mushrooms. Added two potatoes cut in small cubes and boiled the soup for about 15 min (add 1-2 cups of water), then at the end add milk instead of half & half. Sprinkle with some fresh chopped parsley at the end. Served with foccacia bread. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My first try at mushroom soup, and I'm glad I chose this recipe! Only had portobello, so that's what I used. I chopped the shrooms into small pieces. Used about 1/4 of an onion, chopped, in place of the shallots. Used skim milk instead of half and half. The mushroom flavor is so rich that I don't really think you need to use half and half. Also, I omitted the cinammon. YummY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great soup! Few things that I think make it even better - Start with some fine chopped carrots. Cook until golden-brown (1 to 3 min) and than add the mushrooms. Based on my experience the best herb for mushrooms is fresh DILL. I combine it with nutmeg (not cinnamon). Also instead of half-and-half I use 2% organic milk. You can also make some garlic bread - super combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this to replace the high sodium can soup used in everyday recipes. I modified it a bit, instead of chicken broth I used organic low sodium vegetable broth, replaced the half and half with non dairy creamer and left out the salt. I allowed it to cool and divided it into 3/4 cup containers to freeze for later use. It is very tasty but I think it could be puréed before I use it for my next recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Made this using twice the mushrooms (4 cups) and 1 1/2 times everything else. Also added about three cups of cubed roast beef leftovers during the last 5 minutes or so of cooking. It was a meal in itself for two people. Oh, and I used the mushrooms I had available instead of those specified. Half were wild-harvested Chanterelles; the other half were store-bought white mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was a perfect soup all by it self and my family loved it. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I adapted this recipe to reduce the carbs and also make it more suitable for the vegetarians in the family. I purred the mixture and did not add flour. I also substituted coconut milk for cream. Delicious and much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States