Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I followed most of the recipe and used suggestions from other comments like beef broth instead and grated fresh nutmeg. I also added a little red wine at the beginning when cooking the mushrooms and shallots; wine that you can drink while making this great soup. I used my immersion blender and left some chunky pieces. I will never use mushroom soup from a can again, thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I loved it it's easy to make. Is it fine if I put a little bit of cheese to make it thicker?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zak Ziko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This soup was fantastic. I am not a cook so I followed the recipe exactly-leaving out the pinch of cinnamon. It had a really nice consistency- not too thick, which is often what I don't like about cream soups. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I modified it a little bit, to make do with what I had in the kitchen and it came out great. I added broccoli and chicken (cooked leftovers) to the mix, using water and a bouillon cube instead of stock and half whole milk and half canned milk instead of Half and Half. Garnished with green onion and finely chopped hot pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Nice recipe. The cinnamon was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe as a base! I subbed beef broth as I had it on hand and thought it went together nicely. I also subbed white mushrooms for shiitake (economical reasoning) and added a yellow onion/garlic (diced and sautéed), ground coriander seed, white/black pepper, tons of thyme and parsley, and a hint of nutmeg. If you're like me and like your food to be pretty, add the thyme and parsley. It tastes great and dresses it up a bit - especially when you add a bit of the parsley to the top when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is really tasty and quick! I just made it (onions instead of shallots, cream instead of half and half). It came out perfect and I am a lousy cook. (Like really really lousy) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Used only portobello mushrooms as well, sweet cream instead of half-and-half and added 2 potatoes and a carrot, no blending - tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I only used Portobello Mushrooms and added a little bit of nutmeg as well as the cinnamon. It is sooo delish!!! I also used a hand blender to puree more it was great! will definitely be making this more often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latinsyth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great base recipe. I had to do few modifications: i used only portobello mushrooms and satay them for about 20 min. I added flour to the warm broth- it mixes way easier then to mix flour with mushrooms. Added two potatoes cut in small cubes and boiled the soup for about 15 min (add 1-2 cups of water), then at the end add milk instead of half & half. Sprinkle with some fresh chopped parsley at the end. Served with foccacia bread. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States