Creamy Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Added broccoli. The soup did not come out as thick as I would have liked but, still very tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Good and hearty. I used baby bellas and button. No cinamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
By far the best mushroom soup I've ever tasted. I used 3 cups of portabellas and omitted the cinnamon...I'll try that next time. In my opinion, most any mushroom would probably do. And to the person who thought the soup looked like dirty dishwater, you might try removing the gills from the portabellas. I don't believe it changes the flavor, but certainly the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Hit the spot! Doubled nicely with 1 1/2 cups half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Double the ingredients. I used vegetable broth and a variety of mushrooms. Quick and easy. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Oh I am in love with this recipe. On the night I prepared it, there was a big storm coming through which killed the power as I was cutting the mushrooms. But instead of placing this on the back burner, I followed through it with estimated measurements and the backlight of my cellphone to guide me. Originally I wanted the soup to be creamier, but without power, blenders and mixers were out of the question (there wasn't sufficient lighting to cut the mushrooms and I for one love my fingers). Even through it all, this soup came out as a smash hit. There weren't any major changes added here except chicken broth being replaced with beef, and both white and portabella mushrooms being used in the place of shiitake. A few more spices were added, but that's neither here nor there. A friend of mine try this soup reheated yesterday (she's my food guinea pig ---always up to taste my concoctions). Not only did she fall in love with this, but she has even asked that I make a larger batch this weekend. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This soup is just delicious - perfect for a chilly fall day. We followed the recipe as written and wouldn't change a thing except to double the recipe for leftovers. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I followed most of the recipe and used suggestions from other comments like beef broth instead and grated fresh nutmeg. I also added a little red wine at the beginning when cooking the mushrooms and shallots; wine that you can drink while making this great soup. I used my immersion blender and left some chunky pieces. I will never use mushroom soup from a can again, thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I loved it it's easy to make. Is it fine if I put a little bit of cheese to make it thicker?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zak Ziko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This soup was fantastic. I am not a cook so I followed the recipe exactly-leaving out the pinch of cinnamon. It had a really nice consistency- not too thick, which is often what I don't like about cream soups. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States