Creamy Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
It was "fantestico" everyone loved it in the gathereing day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Follow directions exact ... except, put all stock in at once, and let simmer 25 minutes ... added 1 1/2 cups of parmesan grated cheese at the end. Awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was very good. I did substitute veg. broth for chicken as my fiancee is a vegetarian. I added some garlic powder for flavoring and we used fresh sliced mushrooms instead of the dried porcini. The other change I made was to add white wine instead of the water. It added a nice flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Ignore the food snobs...This has been called risotto because not everyone knows arborio is a special kind of rice. This is a DELICIOUS dish and we enjoyed it even more than our typical mushroom risotto. The creaminess of the soup seemed to ease the painstaking cooking time a bit, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is NOT risotto!! This is like some sort of rice casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
yum! so tasty, used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth, and used jumbo mushrooms. I would definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirstiejane

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
As another reviewer mentioned, this is not classic risotto. That said, I used this recipe anyway for my family's Easter Dinner. I over-peppered it for my MIL's preference, but overall we really enjoyed it! I followed the recipe as written except used fresh sliced mushrooms, and did not add the parmesan cheese. Though it was not my "favorite" it was tasty, easy to cook up (exactly as written. You really do need all four cups of broth), and I'm sure I'll make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Snell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findley Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
excellent! I did make some substitutions though - really like mushrooms / garlic, so i put in 2 cups of mushrooms (variety, button, brown, enoki, oyster, shitake) and about 5 cloves of garlic. Also substituted vegetable stock for chicken, and cream of mushroom with garlic soup for regular. The recipe said to cook for 20 min, but i found that even though i have a gas stove, i needed to cook for approx. 25 min for all the liquids to absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this and loved the flavor however i used more than the called for amt. of porcinis and it was to much. I would stick to the recipe next time and not sure why but my rice was VERY al dente. I would add more liquid next time and cook to tenderness. I would recommend this recipe. so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wasapnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is not risotto. Risotto does not contain any cream. It is "creamy" in texture because of the starch in the rice which is drawn into the liquid due to the cooking method. That being said if you take all these ingredients and throw them into a cassarole dish and bake it in the oven you have a very nice and easy dish. Don't waste expensive rice on this though. Just use regular long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States