Creamy Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is not risotto. Risotto does not contain any cream. It is "creamy" in texture because of the starch in the rice which is drawn into the liquid due to the cooking method. That being said if you take all these ingredients and throw them into a cassarole dish and bake it in the oven you have a very nice and easy dish. Don't waste expensive rice on this though. Just use regular long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This came out quite good with a few alterations: I used twice as many mushrooms as called for (white button instead), a low-fat cream of mushroom soup, and cooked over LOW heat instead of medium (you don't want to rush risotto!). Also, grated swiss makes a great complement if you want some extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I made this for my boyfriend, brother, and brother's new girlfriend and everyone really loved it. My brother said it was the best risotto he'd ever had! I was having a poor day though, so used (lots and lots of)cheddar instead of parmesan, and the big wide mushrooms. Had with a crispy salad with vinaigrette, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This is NOT risotto!! This is like some sort of rice casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This is probably more a 3.5 because it did taste good. However the fact that it's not the prettiest dish and the consistency was as my daughter put it kind of gloopy makes me doubt that I would make it again. This may well be something that I did though. I did use vegetable stock instead of chicken to make it vegetarian and we did all eat it and just because it didn't entirely work for me doesn't mean it won't for somebody else. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
excellent! I did make some substitutions though - really like mushrooms / garlic, so i put in 2 cups of mushrooms (variety, button, brown, enoki, oyster, shitake) and about 5 cloves of garlic. Also substituted vegetable stock for chicken, and cream of mushroom with garlic soup for regular. The recipe said to cook for 20 min, but i found that even though i have a gas stove, i needed to cook for approx. 25 min for all the liquids to absorb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
We really enjoyed this. I used fresh portabello mushrooms because I find re-hydrated porcinis slimey and unpleasant. I used chicken bouillon powder, and it was a tad salty. When I make this again, I'll use canned broth as it isn't so salty. My only complaint with this recipe is that it needs constant supervision as you have to stir it non-stop. Oh, and it doesn't look too pretty either! Anyway, great recipe. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
As another reviewer mentioned, this is not classic risotto. That said, I used this recipe anyway for my family's Easter Dinner. I over-peppered it for my MIL's preference, but overall we really enjoyed it! I followed the recipe as written except used fresh sliced mushrooms, and did not add the parmesan cheese. Though it was not my "favorite" it was tasty, easy to cook up (exactly as written. You really do need all four cups of broth), and I'm sure I'll make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Snell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findley Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this and loved the flavor however i used more than the called for amt. of porcinis and it was to much. I would stick to the recipe next time and not sure why but my rice was VERY al dente. I would add more liquid next time and cook to tenderness. I would recommend this recipe. so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wasapnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Love it - it's been a big hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States