Creamy Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Love it - it's been a big hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very yummy - one of the better risotto dished I've had! I did make a few changes. I added steamed butternut squash, fresh mushrooms (instead of dried), zucchini and red bell pepper. So it looked pretty & colorful. I also used only 1/2 the amount of chicken stock (and topped it up with the excess squash water) as I had read that other complaints that it was too salty. I topped it off with some fresh parmesan...and it was perfect! I've made risotto before so I know that it's a commitment. But all-in-all it's a very simple dish and I'll for sure be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
My husband loved this! Caught him licking the spoon clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Really tasty recipe. The whole family enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
DELICIOUS. This is a pretty time intensive recipe but easy to follow, and simple in terms of ingredients. Maybe it's not a traditional risotto but when you have 2 toddlers running wild around you, a simpler, easier recipe that results in a delicious end result is a weclome thing no matter what some naysayers might have to say. I will definitely be making this again. I made it easier by cutting corners like heating my water and stock in a microwaveable measuring cup. I mixed in some asiago cheese at the end and it gave it a great flavor. Anyone who wants a flavorful, satisfying side should definitely try this recipe. I bet you could make this a main course by mixing in a boat load of veggies in the beginning, or using some grilled chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was a great recipe for simple risotto! Yummy! We've never attempted to make our own and this was easy & delicious! **It IS risotto** How rude.....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I used this recipe as a starting point. I used 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, and 4 cups of UNSALTED chicken stock (Kitchen Basic brand). I didn't add any extra mushrooms, but added 8 good shakes of "Mrs. Dash Tomato Basil Garlic" blend along with 2 large cloves of garlic, minced. At the end, I stirred in about 1/4 cup chopped roasted red pepper, 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesano Reggiano cheese, 4 tablespoons freshly chopped parsley, and about 25-30 medium cooked shrimp, cut in half. It was delicious!! I added the shrimp to make it a main dish and it was wonderful. This may not be a "true" risotto, but it is close enough and very tasty! Sometimes, its OK to cheat a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is the first risotto recipe I've ever tried making. I was short on the proper ingredients so I had to substitute dried mushrooms for fresh white mushrooms, risotto rice for small grain white rice, and I didn't have the fresh herbs to add in the end. Never the less, this recipe was very good. I needed to add a bit more water in the end just so the rice would cook a couple more minutes to soften up. The sauce was creamy but not over powering and too rich. It was fast and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
It was the first time I have ever cooked risotto but it worked out really well. It was really easy to follow. I didn't use the canned soup - instead just thickened cream with seasoning which made the risotto not as creamy but still really flavoursome. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was a hit at my house and my 2 year old had 3 helpings! It's a bit time consuming but we enjoyed trying something a little new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States