Creamy Mushroom Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Creamed Peas is something my mother would make occasionally and I remember thinking it was a treat when she did. I loved 'em! But...back then canned vegetables were most commonly used, so the creamed peas were made with canned peas. Hubs and I agree canned were, and still are, infinitely better than frozen, and while this recipe takes frozen peas a step in the right direction, they're still frozen peas. That said, this is a good recipe, and I particularly liked the subtle hint of nutmeg (I used fresh grated). Cooking the peas for five minutes is not necessary and might even shrivel them up - just heating them up is fine. In fact, they were a little too creamy and just throwing in an extra handful of frozen peas took care of that - no cooking necessary! I'd consider giving this another try - with canned peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This was a perfect recipe for me & my husband. He loves peas and I love mushrooms (added extra) We both loved this one. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I like both mushrooms and peas and the idea of them together as a side dish sounded good. I did not have canned peas so I used frozen sweet peas. I did not cook the peas for a full five minutes as I did not want them overcooked. I just cooked them until tender and set them aside. I also wanted to retain their bright green color. I thought they were tasty but a little too creamy for me. I would cut back on the amount of light cream next time. The nutmeg was a nice subtle addition and this dish was tasty overall. I served this with, "Sunday Meat Loaf," and "Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes," from AR site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was the first time I had ever made creamed peas and I am so glad I tried this recipe first. It is the only way I will make them from now on! I only made one substitution - I didn't have cream so I used evaporated milk, and a little extra butter. I also used canned mushrooms instead of fresh. This was delicious, and everyone at the table loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Kusek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This tasted great, and looked much more complicated than it is! I made some substitutions for convenience, but the taste was still fantastic: canned peas and mushrooms instead of frozen or fresh, half & half instead of cream, and 1 tsp onion powder instead of onions (we don't like onions). This has such a mild flavor, it went very well with a spicy main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Creamed peas over New Red Potatoes is a favorite! Milk works just as well as the cream-Mushrooms were a nice addition but then again I like mushrooms in just about everything except Captain Crunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This dish is delicious! My husband and I really enjoyed it. This is a classic dish that is always a crowd pleaser. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing, Cheeto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These were pretty good! Even my pea-hating fiance liked them. I gave it 4 stars just because it was pretty bland. I added quite a bit of pepper and threw a clove of garlic (chopped) in. I used skim milk and a little extra flour. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Excellent!! Used half & half instead of the light cream, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Hubby is already asking when we can have again! Wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States