Creamy Mushroom Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Creamed Peas is something my mother would make occasionally and I remember thinking it was a treat when she did. I loved 'em! But...back then canned vegetables were most commonly used, so the creamed peas were made with canned peas. Hubs and I agree canned were, and still are, infinitely better than frozen, and while this recipe takes frozen peas a step in the right direction, they're still frozen peas. That said, this is a good recipe, and I particularly liked the subtle hint of nutmeg (I used fresh grated). Cooking the peas for five minutes is not necessary and might even shrivel them up - just heating them up is fine. In fact, they were a little too creamy and just throwing in an extra handful of frozen peas took care of that - no cooking necessary! I'd consider giving this another try - with canned peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
OK side dish in a hurry. Nothing special, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
i didnt think this recipe had a lot of flavor...good texture and ingredient ratio but kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These were pretty good! Even my pea-hating fiance liked them. I gave it 4 stars just because it was pretty bland. I added quite a bit of pepper and threw a clove of garlic (chopped) in. I used skim milk and a little extra flour. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
The mushroom and peas are a great combination. For a different taste, I added some dried basil and chilli powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Excellent!! Used half & half instead of the light cream, but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Hubby is already asking when we can have again! Wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Tasty but I thought it had too much light cream so I'll cut it back next time. And add more mushrooms too - we love mushrooms and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
These peas are great! I have made them several times and I get tons of compliments and no leftovers! Everyone loves them kids and grown ups alike! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very nice change to standard peas. This marries 2 of my favorite veggies (shrooms & peas) together in a lovely, light sauce. The nutmeg (a pinch) adds a nice flavor as well. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States