Creamy Mushroom Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I love love love these! I used shallots instead of onions because I wanted to use them up. I used half and half because that is what I had and I threw in a 1/4 teaspoon of sugar because another pea recipe I like has sugar in it. I was prepared to use less half and half based on other reviews but they needed the entire cup. Thank you for this recipe it is holiday and company worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I lived this!! The only substitution was whole milk for cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was a big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
We like this allot. Something different than my usual asparagus, green beans, or brocolli. Simple recipe, good results, and good flavor. I will definitely be making this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Not a single pea was left over! The only change i made was using gluten free flour and heavy cream, but have since made it with a lighter cream with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Looks good!Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Creamed peas over New Red Potatoes is a favorite! Milk works just as well as the cream-Mushrooms were a nice addition but then again I like mushrooms in just about everything except Captain Crunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This dish is delicious! My husband and I really enjoyed it. This is a classic dish that is always a crowd pleaser. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing, Cheeto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I like both mushrooms and peas and the idea of them together as a side dish sounded good. I did not have canned peas so I used frozen sweet peas. I did not cook the peas for a full five minutes as I did not want them overcooked. I just cooked them until tender and set them aside. I also wanted to retain their bright green color. I thought they were tasty but a little too creamy for me. I would cut back on the amount of light cream next time. The nutmeg was a nice subtle addition and this dish was tasty overall. I served this with, "Sunday Meat Loaf," and "Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes," from AR site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Creamed Peas is something my mother would make occasionally and I remember thinking it was a treat when she did. I loved 'em! But...back then canned vegetables were most commonly used, so the creamed peas were made with canned peas. Hubs and I agree canned were, and still are, infinitely better than frozen, and while this recipe takes frozen peas a step in the right direction, they're still frozen peas. That said, this is a good recipe, and I particularly liked the subtle hint of nutmeg (I used fresh grated). Cooking the peas for five minutes is not necessary and might even shrivel them up - just heating them up is fine. In fact, they were a little too creamy and just throwing in an extra handful of frozen peas took care of that - no cooking necessary! I'd consider giving this another try - with canned peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States