Creamy Mushroom Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Not bad, but not the best I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I really enjoyed this. I had a couple of adjustments to it. I increased the chicken stock and white wine slightlys to make it a little more thinner. I also used flour instead of cornstarch and it made no difference. Once it was done a added about a tablespoon more sour cream to cream it a little more. I loved it. I also added more mushrooms then called for. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Edible, but very disapointing. I decreased the salt to 1/2 ts. and Italian seasonings to 1 ts. otherwise but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was VERY thin and needed A LOT more mushrooms. Also, I don't think adding the sour cream and then the cornstarch and then cooking longer is a very good idea. Normally, sour cream is the last thing added. Overall, this tasted like something from a box. My husband and I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Tasty recipe! I added a little bit more cornstarch to thicken the sauce, becuase I used the sauce over baked pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I was in the mood for pasta with mushroom sauce and stumbled across this delightful recipe. I added extra butter, mushrooms and garlic. I didn't use chicken broth and replaced it with water. I used half the wine and added ground red pepper to give it a kick. I added extra salt. I added extra cornstarch for thickness. My preparation turned out too watery so I blended the pasta sauce into a puree. We have enjoyed this sauce with penne pasta and thin spaghetti (whatever we had in the pantry). My toddler enjoyed it, too. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
the taste was bland, I added many more mushrooms and there was still just barely enough. The cornstarch works best if you mix it with a bit of water in a cup and THEN add it to the skillet. Otherwise, it just forms into lumps. In my opinion, the recipe as it stands requires too many adjustments to make it worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I thought this was very good. I added an entire 8 oz. carton of mushrooms and actually thought you could even add more. Instead of the dried Italian seasoning I used a cup of fresh thyme. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Only 4 mushrooms??? Using an entire package of fresh mushrooms is a must! I also add cooked chicken after I saute the mushrooms to make a complete meal. Adding the cooked pasta to the skillet mixture allows it to absorb all of the good flavors of the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This turned out well with a bit of tweaking. Four mushrooms for six servings?? And like a previous reviewer notes, you've got to mix cornstarch with water or you'll end up with a grainy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I loved that most of the ingredients were already staples in my cupboard. I found this recipe a bit salty. Next time i will use a low sodium chicken stock and salt to taste as i cook. i agree that this recipe also needed more mushrooms. All in all with a little tweeking, i made this a wonderful low-fat sauce with plenty of flavor. Next time i plan to add shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Mushroom Pasta

This cream sauce stars two kinds of mushrooms, fresh herbs, and sherry.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States