Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I have made this recipe several times now after watching Chef John's video and it is DELICIOUS! I served this recipe to company this past weekend and everyone raved about the flavor the shitake mushrooms gave the gravy. No changes are necessary as the recipe is perfect just as written. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dojose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I dont know how anyone could fault this gravy. The shitakes made our gravy pure magic and the addition of a little heavy cream was perfect to lighten and soften the gravy too. I made this gravy with the meatloaf recipe found on this site called "Brown Sugar Meatloaf" without the brown sugar and ketchup, also substituted the crackers for Italian Seasoned Breadcrumbs and a heartier dose of garlic. Remember the beef stock is a big part of this recipe, either make your own (big pain) or use the thick lard-like stocks like "better than bullion". I find a huge upgrade in those stocks and they are available in chicken, beef and turkey. My wife is a life long meatloaf lover and I am a lifelong meatloaf hater. I made this meal for her and we were both saying "Mmmmmm" the whole time and she said it was the best meatloaf of her life! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great recipe...made it with a pork and beef meatloaf which was delicious. Shiitake mushrooms are a must. I used a little too much flour (about 3 Tbsp.) and had to add extra beef broth while it was baking, but other than that, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Though I don't eat meat myself - the smell while this was cooking was enough to make my mouth water. My kids aren't super picky - but i KNEW this was a hit when my son thanked us for having him so that he could eat food as good as this...and my daughter hummed the happy song while eating. I'd say this one is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I did NOT do the Beef Veal and Pork meatloaf he suggested. I instead used his classic meatloaf recipe. Hover instead of 2.5 pounds of chuck, I did a mix of chuck and pork. Came out amazing!!! All the family wanted the recipe. I also did not spoon on the gravy until half way through the cooking process. Made a bit more of a crust on the outside. I would actually have let it stay in longer next time before spooning over the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is a very elegant meatloaf, one you could serve to guests. The rosemary really sets this apart from other more traditional meatloaf recipes. I added in some baby bella mushrooms along with the shiitake and fresh chopped garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aleban
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I think I messed up so much and yet it came out delish. First, didnt have shiitake mushrooms so used regular packaged mushrooms. Didnt have rosemary so used parsley. and didnt have regular heavy cream so used heavy whipped cream. lol. You would think wow how bad it must of came out but was delish. Next time will do as instructed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aleban
Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Good basic idea. I used ground venison instead (10% fat), used 1 T. butter and 1 T. olive oil, and non-fat yogurt instead of the heavy cream. It didn't yield quite the amount of sauce I would have liked, but the flavor was good. The rosemary and mushrooms complemented each other perfectly... My only complaint was there was no specific amount of flour called for so I had to just guess at how much to use...but the sauce turned out a good consistency. Great new way to make meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I would have given this recipe about 3 stars for flavor, & that's considering this is really a recipe for MEATLOAF GRAVY rather than for meatloaf, so my rating is based on the METHOD/GRAVY ALONE. I made this recipe exactly as written & IMHO the gravy was good, but NOT great. It reminds me of a gravy I might have tasted in a TV dinner or at Denny's (edible, I wouldn't have sent it back, but I wouldn't have bothered to clean my plate or save any leftovers nor would I never order this again). The fact that it uses shitake mushrooms seems like it would add to the flavor, but it only seems to add to the cost of the dish. Sorry, Chef John, but I've tried a few gravy recipes that called for cans of cream of mushroom soup that cost MUCH less than this one & were easier to prepare & tasted just as good or better. I started off rating this recipe 3 stars for flavor, but knocked off stars because (1) it takes extra time/expense to make than a canned-mushroom-soup-gravy & IMHO this recipe isn't any better (2) cooking the meatloaf IN the gravy makes for a VERYVERYGREASY gravy & just skimming the grease wasn't enough for, I had to get out the gravy strainer & this is an extra step that I didn't care for - why not just make the gravy separately? 3) Personal preference - we like to have a crisp outer layer on our meatloaf & using this recipe/method the whole loaf comes out very moist...like tv-dinner-meatloaf-all-around-moist-throughout..which isn't what we like/expect/want in a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Best meatloaf ever! A great change from the traditional BBQ sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States