Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is by far the BEST meatloaf I have ever had or made. I made a basic meatloaf recipe with the beef, pork and veal, added my mother's favorite ingredients (egg, milk, bread, ketchup, salt and pepper) then made the mushroom sauce. OMG...what flavor! I didn't use shitake mushrooms, I used baby bellas. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was really good. I don't eat veal or pork so I just did it with Chef Johns meatloaf recipe which was amazing in itself, very moist. The only thing I would say is that I don't know how badly it needed step 11. The sauce seemed thick enough immediately out of the oven to me, I did step 11 and it just seemed to thicken the sauce a bit too much for my taste and also reduced the amount of sauce to the point where there didn't seem to be enough for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My family and I just LOVE this repie, I make a basic meatloaf with it (ground beef, breadcrumbs, egg, bouillon powder, ketchup and warm water), and I cook the above recipe as stated, no changes as it doesn't need it, it's fabulous as it is, the sauce it produces is soooo good, and I serve it with mashed potatoes, green beans/peas. Great comfort meal on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
2 thumbs up from my family! I only used 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tbsp of butter to saute the mushrooms and I omitted the salt as I used beef Better then Bullion for the broth, I only had 5% cream but it still worked great, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe twice now; it was amazing. However, I simply poured the mushroom sauce over the meatloaf and left some sauce on the side for the mashed potatoes. I also added a touch of dry white wine to the sauce. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPhiBQT
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I did it exactly as described. Will do it again! The only problem was that my husband devoured it before I got a good picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPhiBQT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
this is so good The shiitake mushrooms give the gravy so much flavor . Served it to guests all in agreement 5 star recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I've made this 2 times already - 3rd time will be this weekend. I use a very basic meatloaf recipe, and only use about 1lb of meat (just making it for 2 and I don't want TOO much left over). The creamy mushroom sauce is incredible. It keeps the meatloaf moist (even when using turkey!) and is delicious served over the meatloaf and mashed potatoes. I love it so much, I've pretty much stopped making meatloaf without this sauce. Oh, and I use regular mushrooms because shiitake are too expensive for my budget. Still great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was easy to make & absolutely delish! I threw in a partial pkg of mini bella's also,just to use them up. Fabulous!! This'll be a repeat. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This stuff is just silly good, I could drink it as is! Made exactly as written with lots of black pepper added. Instead of meatloaf I just added a 2 lb bag of prepared frozen turkey meatballs and baked at 250* for a couple of hours until we were ready to eat. A great easy "semi-homemade" weeknight meal over buttered/parsley kluski noodles. Thanks for sharing, John, a winner and def do-over for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States