Creamy Mushroom Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used this method with the three meat meatloaf and wow. I used white shrooms, not tasty shitake, so I added about a half tablespoon of smoked peppercorns and the sauce which then had a pleasing, subtle smokey edge. Then I used bbq, ketchup, siracha sauce combo for the top. Also I used 1 t of thyme instead of basil (I was out). Kudos Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean-Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I would have given this recipe about 3 stars for flavor, & that's considering this is really a recipe for MEATLOAF GRAVY rather than for meatloaf, so my rating is based on the METHOD/GRAVY ALONE. I made this recipe exactly as written & IMHO the gravy was good, but NOT great. It reminds me of a gravy I might have tasted in a TV dinner or at Denny's (edible, I wouldn't have sent it back, but I wouldn't have bothered to clean my plate or save any leftovers nor would I never order this again). The fact that it uses shitake mushrooms seems like it would add to the flavor, but it only seems to add to the cost of the dish. Sorry, Chef John, but I've tried a few gravy recipes that called for cans of cream of mushroom soup that cost MUCH less than this one & were easier to prepare & tasted just as good or better. I started off rating this recipe 3 stars for flavor, but knocked off stars because (1) it takes extra time/expense to make than a canned-mushroom-soup-gravy & IMHO this recipe isn't any better (2) cooking the meatloaf IN the gravy makes for a VERYVERYGREASY gravy & just skimming the grease wasn't enough for, I had to get out the gravy strainer & this is an extra step that I didn't care for - why not just make the gravy separately? 3) Personal preference - we like to have a crisp outer layer on our meatloaf & using this recipe/method the whole loaf comes out very moist...like tv-dinner-meatloaf-all-around-moist-throughout..which isn't what we like/expect/want in a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I really enjoued the simplicity of making this with everyday ingredients yet what an amazing presentation! I didnt have rosemary so i left it out and ramped up the garlic. I used my everyday meatloaf recipe and this sauce took it to a new level. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Fabulous receipe! Didn't have fresh mushrooms, so used canned. I also added a little wine to it. My husband loved this - said it was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I didn't use shitaki's and I didn't cook the meatloaf in the sauce, but it was amazing! Even the people who didn't like mushrooms ate them. I will be using this for many other things. (Chicken, pork, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora L Gunderman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was probably the best meatloaf I've ever made! It was delicious, and the shiitake mushroom were the perfect type for the dish. The Rosemary gave it an interesting flavor and really combined well with the other ingredients. I added onion to my gravy, and that was about the only change I made. Thank you for the excellent recipe, husband and I will definitely have this again for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
OMG!!! This was absolutely delicious and I'm not a fan of mushroom! This was my first time making meatloaf using another recipe from this site, and I wanted a sauce/gravy to go with it other than the usual ketchup mix and this was it! It's creamy and flavorful it really makes any meatloaf taste yummy! I doubled the sauce but other than that I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I used Chef John's Classic Meat Loaf recipe with this sauce. I actually did not have shitake mushrooms, I used baby bella mushrooms. The "gravy" is seriously to die for. We ate just about all of it--there is just enough for my husband's lunch tomorrow. Truly incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Muy delicisio! The blend of flavors was excellent - so moist and flavorful. Everyone enjoyed the meal. Thanks Chef John for taking meatloaf to a whole new level of goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
10 stars!! This was outstanding. I loved the mushroom gravy on the meatloaf. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States